First CSTO Academy to be opened in Armenia

YEREVAN, Armenia, Nov. 29 (Xinhua) -- The first academy of the Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO) will be opened in Armenia, Armenian news agency Armenpress reported on Friday.

"The exact date of the opening is not clear yet, but I can tell that it's really necessary, as the students are very interested in the activity of the CSTO," said Nver Torosyan, director of the CSTO Institute in Armenia.

A memorandum on creating a "CSTO Academy" Fund was signed on Jan. 29, 2013, and it aimed to establish the academy as a research, education and study centre in the field of security and other related spheres.

The CSTO, which evolved from the Collective Security Treaty signed in 1992, comprises seven members -- Russia, Belarus, Armenia, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan and Kyrgyzstan. Armenia has been a member of the CSTO since 2002.