Cricket: South Africa v Pakistan scoreboard

Close of play scores on the first day of the second Test between South Africa and Pakistan at Newlands on Thursday.

Pakistan, first innings

Mohammad Hafeez c Smith b Steyn 17

Nasir Jamshed c De Villiers b Philander 3

Azhar Ali c De Villiers b Morkel 4

Younis Khan c De Villiers b Philander 111

Misbah-ul-Haq c Elgar b Morkel 0

Asad Shafiq not out 111

Sarfraz Ahmed not out 0

Extras (lb4, nb3) 7

Total (5 wkts, 90 overs) 253

Fall of wickets: 1-10 (Jamshed), 2-21 (Hafeez), 3-33 (Azhar), 4-33 (Misbah), 5-252 (Younis)

Bowling: Philander 21-8-45-2 (2nb), Steyn 19-7-34-1, Morkel 16-6-37-2 (1nb), Kallis 13-2-34-0, Peterson 19-0-85-0, Elgar 2-0-14-0

To bat: Tanvir Ahmed, Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal, Mohammad Irfan

South Africa: G. Smith, A. Petersen, H. Amla, J. Kallis, A. de Villiers, F. du Plessis, D. Elgar, R. Peterson, V. Philander, D. Steyn, M. Morkel

Match situation: Pakistan are 253 for five wickets in the first innings

Toss: South Africa

Umpires: Steve Davis, Bruce Oxenford (both AUS)

TV umpire: Billy Bowden (NZL)

Match referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)