Cricket: Zimbabwe bat in first T20 against West Indies

Zimbabwe captain Brendan Taylor won the toss and decided to bat first against the West Indies in the first T20 international at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium on Saturday.

After being rested for the three one-day internationals in Grenada, Darren Sammy returns to lead the home side, who omitted fast bowler Shannon Gabriel and all-rounder Christopher Barnwell from their final eleven.

Zimbabwe welcomed back Craig Ervine, who missed the final ODI with the flu, and have also chosen to go into the match with three specialist spinners -- Prosper Utseya, Natsai M'Shangwe and Tinotenda Mutombodzi -- on a pitch devoid of grass.

West Indies swept the three-match ODI series 3-0 in Grenada earlier this week.

West Indies: Darren Sammy (capt), Johnson Charles, Lendl Simmons, Darren Bravo, Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell, Denesh Ramdin, Sunil Narine, Samuel Badree, Tino Best.

Zimbabwe: Brendan Taylor (capt), Vusi Sibanda, Hamilton Masakadza, Craig Ervine, Malcolm Waller, Chamu Chibhabha, Tinotenda Mutombodzi, Prosper Utseya, Kyle Jarvis, Natsai M'Shangwe, Chris Mpofu.

Umpires: Peter Nero (WIS) and Joel Wilson (WIS)

TV umpire: Nigel Duguid (WIS)

Match referee: Javagal Srinath (IND)