Cricket: Thirimanne, Chandimal crack maiden Test centuries

Lahiru Thirimanne and Dinesh Chandimal hit maiden centuries as Sri Lanka declared their first innings closed at 570-4 on the second day of the opening Test against Bangladesh on Saturday.

Left-handed Thirimanne cracked a solid 155 not out and Chandimal an unbeaten 116 as the hosts added 209 runs to their overnight total of 361-3 for the loss of just one wicket in Galle.

Bangladesh lost opener Jahurul Islam (20) before reaching 23-1 in their first innings at tea. Debutant Anamul Haque was unbeaten on three at the break with Mohammad Ashraful, who had yet to open his account.

Thirimanne, playing his ninth Test, hit 14 fours in his 256-ball knock while Chandimal, in his sixth Test, smashed two sixes and 12 fours in a 151-ball innings, the pair dominating the Bangladeshi attack for more than a session.

Bangladesh failed to make the most of the chances that came their way in the morning as they twice let off Chandimal early in his innings. The Sri Lankan went on to add 203 with Thirimanne.

Thirimanne, 74 overnight, completed his hundred in the morning when he lofted left-arm spinner Elias Sunny over mid-on for two runs while Chandimal reached his century in the afternoon with three runs off spinner Mominul Haque.

Chandimal went for big shots after scoring a 91-ball fifty as he took 45 more deliveries to complete his century, hitting a six each off spinners Mohammad Mahmudullah and Sohag Gazi.

Off-spinner Gazi finished with 3-164 off 50 overs, claiming all of his wickets on Friday. Seamer Abul Hasan was the other wicket-taker, finishing with 1-112 off 27 overs.

Hasan, playing his second match, got a maiden Test wicket when he held a return catch to remove Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews early in the morning.

Mathews, who could add just two runs to his overnight score of 25, put on 62 for the fourth wicket with Thirimanne.

Kumar Sangakkara put Sri Lanka in a strong position on Friday when he cracked an impressive 142 for his 31st Test century. Openers Tillakaratne Dilshan (54) and Dimuth Karunaratne (41) were the other main scorers.