Football: A-League call-ups for Australia-Oman clash

Six players from Australia's domestic A-League were named Wednesday in a 23-man squad for the Socceroos' crucial World Cup qualifier against Oman in Sydney this month.

Coach Holger Osieck called on goalkeepers Eugene Galekovic (Adelaide United) and Mat Ryan (Central Coast) plus defenders Mark Milligan (Melbourne Victory), Jade North (Brisbane Roar) and Michael Thwaite (Perth Glory).

Striker Archie Thompson (Melbourne Victory) rounded out the domestic contingent while overseas-based players Tim Cahill, Mile Jedinak, Tommy Oar and Tom Rogic return after missing last month's friendly against Romania.

The Socceroos will be without regular captain Lucas Neill and Carl Valeri for the March 26 game in Sydney, with both serving one-match suspensions for an accumulation of yellow cards.

The Socceroos are in second position behind Japan in Group B of the final round of World Cup Asian qualifying.

Squad: Mark Bresciano (Al Gharafa/QAT), Alex Brosque (Al-Ain/UAE), Tim Cahill (New York Red Bulls/USA), Robert Cornthwaite (Chunnam Dragons/KOR), Dino Djulbic (Al-Wahda/UAE), Eugene Galekovic (Adelaide United/AUS), James Holland (Austria Vienna/AUT), Brett Holman (Aston Villa/ENG), Mile Jedinak (Crystal Palace/ENG), Robbie Kruse (Fortuna Dusseldorf/GER), Ryan McGowan (Shandong Luneng/CHN), Matt McKay (Changchun Yatai/CHN), Mark Milligan (Melbourne Victory/AUS), Jade North (Brisbane Roar/AUS), Tommy Oar (Utrecht/NED), Tom Rogic (Celtic/SCO), Mathew Ryan (Central Coast Mariners/AUS), Archie Thompson (Melbourne Victory/AUS), Mark Schwarzer (Fulham/ENG), Michael Thwaite (Perth Glory/AUS), Luke Wilkshire (Dinamo Moscow/RUS), Rhys Williams (Middlesbrough/ENG), Michael Zullo (Utrecht/NED)