Cricket: Bangladesh send Zimbabwe in to bat

Bangladesh won the toss and opted to put Zimbabwe in to bat on the opening day of the first Test at Harare Sports Club on Wednesday.

The Bangladeshis have never won a Test match in Zimbabwe, and were beaten by 130 runs here when the two teams last faced off in 2011, but go into this match as favourites against an inexperienced Zimbabwe side.

The hosts handed out three new caps after losing players to injury and a contract dispute.

Batsman Timycen Maruma, wicket keeper Richmond Mutumbami and fast bowler Keegan Meth were the debutants, with Tino Mawoyo, Regis Chakabva and Christopher Mpofu all missing through injury and Craig Ervine not available after he opted to take up a club contract overseas.

Bangladesh opener Tamim Iqbal was not included after failing to recover from a broken thumb, but Shakib Al Hasan returned to the side after missing the recent tour of Sri Lanka through injury.


Zimbabwe: Brendan Taylor (captain), Vusi Sibanda, Timycen Maruma, Hamilton Masakadza, Malcolm Waller, Richmond Mutumbami, Elton Chigumbura, Graeme Cremer, Keegan Meth, Shingirai Masakadza, Kyle Jarvis.

Bangladesh: Mushfiqur Rahim (captain), Shahriar Nafees, Jahurul Islam, Mohammad Ashraful, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Nasir Hossain, Sohag Gazi, Enamul Haq Jr, Rubel Hossain, Robiul Islam.