Cricket: India ask the West Indies to bat

Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss in overcast conditions and sent the West Indies in to bat in a key Champions Trophy match at the Oval on Tuesday.

With both teams having won their opening matches, the winner is almost certain to book one of the two semi-final spots from group B.

India retained the same side that defeated South Africa in Cardiff last Thursday.

The West Indies were without wicket-keeper Denesh Ramdin, who was handed a two-match ban for claiming a dropped catch during his team's victory over Pakistan at the Oval on Friday.

Former captain Darren Sammy replaced Ramdin in the side, with opener Johnson Charles picked to keep wickets.

India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Dinesh Karthik, Rohit Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma.

West Indies: Dwayne Bravo (capt), Darren Bravo, Johnson Charles, Chris Gayle, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach, Darren Sammy, Marlon Samuels, Ramnaresh Sarwan.

Umpires: Tony Hill (NZL) and Aleem Dar (PAK)

TV umpire: Steve Davis (AUS)

Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG)