Connect to share and comment

Yachting: America's Cup - the last 10 winners


This year's America's Cup takes place in San Francisco Bay, from September 7 to 21, with holders Oracle Team USA facing the best of three challengers: Emirates Team New Zealand (NZL), Luna Rossa (ITA) and Artemis (SWE).

Here are details on the last 10 winners of sport's oldest competition.

2010 Valencia, Spain

BMW Oracle Racing (USA) beat Alinghi (SUI) 2-0. After a long judicial battle, the 33rd "Cup" saw a relatively short (two regattas) clash between the forerunners of the current AC72 catamarans, the USA 17 trimaran (Godzilla) of Oracle and Alinghi's twin-hull, both 30 metres (nearly 100 feet) long.

2007 Valencia, Spain

Alinghi (SUI) beat Team New Zealand 5-2. The race was the last for the America's Cup Class -- aesthetically pleasing but slow single-hull boats measuring 25 metres.

2003 Auckland, New Zealand

Alinghi (SUI) beat Team New Zealand (NZL) 5-0. The Swiss win their first America's Cup, humiliating the Kiwis on home waters.

2000 Auckland, New Zealand

Team New Zealand beat Prada (ITA) 5-0 in a decisive, flawless performance.

1995 San Diego, United States

Black Magic (NZL) teaches Young America (USA) a lesson, beating them 5-0.

1992 San Diego, United States

America3 (USA) defeats Il Moro di Venezia (ITA) 4-1

1987 Fremantle, Australia

Stars and Stripes (USA) easily beats Kookaburra 3 (AUS) 4-0.

1983 Newport, Rhode Island (United States)

Australia II (AUS) beats Liberty (USA) 4-3 in a historic victory in the spiritual home of world yachting.

The win, ending 132 years of US domination, was attributed to Australia's winged keel that gave it a significant advantage in manoeuvrability.

1980 Newport, Rhode Island (United States)

Freedom (USA) easily beat Australia (AUS) 4-1.