Kuwait's new cabinet

Kuwaiti Prime Minister Sheikh Jaber Mubarak al-Sabah, a senior member of the ruling family, formed a new 16-member cabinet on Sunday, after the July 27 parliamentary polls.

Key portfolios have changed hands and there is only one elected MP in Kuwait's 33rd cabinet since the oil-rich Gulf state gained independence in 1961.

- Prime Minister: Sheikh Jaber Mubarak Al-Sabah

- First Deputy Prime Minister and Foreign Minister: Sheikh Sabah Khaled Al-Sabah

- Deputy Prime Minister and Interior Minister: Sheikh Mohammad Khaled Al-Sabah (new)

- Deputy Prime Minister and Defence Minister: Sheikh Khaled al-Jarrah Al-Sabah (new)

- Deputy Prime Minister and Finance Minister: Sheikh Salem Abdulaziz Al-Sabah (new)

- Deputy Prime Minister and Oil Minister: Mustafa al-Shamali (moved from finance)

- Education and Higher Education: Nayef al-Hajraf

- Commerce and Industry: Anas al-Saleh

- Justice and Islamic Affairs: Sharida al-Meosharji

- State Minister for Housing, Municipality Affairs: Salem al-Othaina (moved from communications)

- State Minister for Cabinet Affairs and Health: Sheikh Mohammad Mubarak Al-Sabah (added health)

- Electricity, Water and Public Works: Abdulaziz al-Ibraheem

- Planning, Development and State Minister for National Assembly Affairs: Rula Dashti

- Social Affairs and Labour: Thekra al-Rasheedi

- Information and State Minister for Youth Affairs: Sheikh Salman Sabah Al-Sabah

- Communications: Issa al-Kundari (new, MP)