RugbyU: Canterbury extend record reign in New Zealand

Canterbury strengthened their hold on New Zealand rugby when they beat Wellington 29-13 in the national championship final Saturday to claim the title for a record sixth consecutive year.

Although they trailed 7-10 at half-time, Canterbury opened up with the wind behind them in the second spell as they out-scored Wellington four tries to one.

However, the match finished with concern over Canterbury prop Joe Moody, who had to be helped from the field with a knee injury, possibly jeopardising his place in the All Blacks.

Moody was one of five of the 12 Canterbury members of the All Blacks, who leave Monday on their northern hemisphere tour, who were given approval to play in the game.

However none of the six Wellington All Blacks were released for the final.

Canterbury, the base team for the successful Crusaders Super 15 franchise, have now won the New Zealand championship every year since 2008 when they just scraped home against Wellington 7-6.

Wellington last won the championship in 2000 and have since been beaten finalists seven times.

For Canterbury, Andy Ellis, Ryan Crotty, Tyler Bleyendaal and George Whitelock scored tries with Tom Taylor adding three conversions and a penalty.

Wellington's points all came from fly-half Lima Sopoaga, who scored a try and landed a conversion and two penalties.