Winners of the Berlin film fest's Golden Bear since 1994

The Golden Bear prize for best picture at the 64th Berlinale went on Saturday to the Chinese film noir "Bai Ri Yan Huo" (Black Coal, Thin Ice).

Here are the winners since 1994 of the Golden Bear at the event, one of the world's top cinema showcases and the first major European film festival of the year.

- 1994: "In the Name of the Father" by Jim Sheridan (Ireland/Britain)

- 1995: "L'appat" (Fresh Bait) by Bertrand Tavernier (France)

- 1996: "Sense and Sensibility" by Ang Lee (US)

- 1997: "The People vs. Larry Flint" by Milos Forman (US)

- 1998: "Central do Brasil" (Central Station) by Walter Salles (Brazil)

- 1999: "The Thin Red Line" by Terence Malick (US)

- 2000: "Magnolia" by Paul Thomas Anderson (US)

- 2001: "Intimacy" by Patrice Chereau (France)

- 2002: "Bloody Sunday" by Paul Greengrass (Britain/Ireland) and "Sen To Chihiro No Kamikakushi" (Spirited Away) by Hayao Miyazaki (Japan)

- 2003: "In This World" by Michael Winterbottom (Britain)

- 2004: "Gegen die Wand" (Head-On) by Fatih Akin (Germany/Turkey)

- 2005: "U-Carmen eKhayelitsha" (Carmen In Khayelitsha) by Mark Dornford-May (South Africa)

- 2006: "Grbavica" by Jasmila Zbanic (Bosnia-Hercegovina)

- 2007: "Tuya De Hunshi" (Tuya's Marriage) by Wang Quan'an (China)

- 2008: "Tropa de Elite" (Elite Squad) by Jose Padilha (Brazil/Argentina)

- 2009: "La teta asustada" (The Milk of Sorrow) by Claudia Llosa (Spain/Peru)

- 2010: "Bal" (Honey) by Semih Kaplanoglu (Turkey/Germany)

- 2011: "Jodaeiye Nader Az Simin" (A Separation) by Asghar Farhadi (Iran)

- 2012: "Cesare deve morire" (Caesar Must Die) by Paolo and Vittorio Taviani (Italy)

- 2013: "Pozitia Copilului" (Child's Pose) by Calin Peter Netzer (Romania)

- 2014: "Bai Ri Yan Huo" (Black Coal, Thin Ice), Diao Yinan (China)