Recent winners of the Nobel Physics Prize

Here is a list of Nobel Physics Prize winners over the past 10 years, following the latest award on Tuesday:

2014: Isamu Akasaki (Japan), Hiroshi Amano (Japan) and Shuji Nakamura (US) for their work on LED lamps.

2013: Peter Higgs (Britain) and Francois Englert (Belgium) for their work on the so-called Higgs boson, a subatomic particle that gives mass to other particles.

2012: Serge Haroche (France) and David Wineland (US) for experimental methods used to measure and manipulate quantum systems.

2011: Saul Perlmutter and Adam Riess (US), Brian Schmidt (US-Australian) for discovering the accelerating expansion of the universe.

2010: Andre Geim (Netherlands) and Konstantin Novoselov (Russia-Britain) for work on the two-dimensional material graphene.

2009: Charles Kao (Britain-US), Willard S. Boyle (Canada-US) and George E. Smith (US) for work on light transmission with optical fibres and semiconductor circuits.

2008: Makoto Kobayashi and Toshihide Maskawa (Japan) and Yoichiro Nambu (US) for discovering the mechanism of spontaneous broken symmetry in subatomic physics.

2007: Albert Fert (France) and Peter Gruenberg (Germany) for the discovery of giant magnetoresistance.

2006: John C. Mather and George F. Smoot (US) for work on cosmic microwave background radiation.

2005: Roy J. Glauber and John L. Hall (US), Theodor W. Haensch (Germany) for work on the quantum theory of optical coherence and laser-based precision spectroscopy.