Crimea assembly declares Russian ruble second official currency

Crimea's separatist parliament on Monday introduced the Russian ruble as a second official currency alongside the Ukrainian hryvnia, after declaring independence following a referendum to break with Ukraine and join Russia.

The parliament said in a statement that the hryvnia could continue to be used in Crimea until January 1, 2016.