Golf: Five pointers for Open round two

Five pointers to bear in mind during the second round of the British Open currently underway Friday at Royal Liverpool Golf Club:-

-- Since 1975 just five first-round leaders of the Open have gone on to win. They are Tiger Woods (2005), John Daly (1995), Greg Norman (1993), Seve Ballesteros (1988) and Tom Watson (1980)

-- First round leader Rory McIlroy won his first major at the US Open in 2011 by leading wire-to-wire. He eventually won by eight strokes.

-- Tied for third after the first round, Spain's Sergio Garcia at 61 holds the record for most consectutive major championship appearances. Adam Scott trails Garcia with 53.

-- The 2014 Open championship marks the 19th major start since Tiger Woods last won a major. That came at the 2008 US Open at Torrey Pines.

-- Defending champion Phil Mickelson is making his 88th start in a major and has just nine missed cuts in that time. Since 2000 he has failed to make it to the weekend just four times, the last being at this year's Masters.