Vettel wins Malaysian Grand Prix

International Sports Desk, Mar 24 (EFE).- Germany's Sebastian Vettel, driving for Red Bull and a three-time Formula One champion, ended an outstanding week by winning the Malaysian Grand Prix - as he did in both 2010 and 2011 - in a race marked by the early withdrawal of Spaniard Fernando Alonso, driving with the Ferrari team.

Vettel navigated the 56 laps at the Sepang raceway - each lap 5,543 meters (about 3.4 miles) long and totaling 310.4 km (192.4 miles) - and crossed the finish line ahead of his teammate, Australian Mark Webber, who came in second, and Britain's Lewis Hamilton, driving for Mercedes, who finished third.

The 25-year-old Red Bull driver notched his 27th Formula One win after taking the coveted pole position and completing the circuit with a time of 1:38:56.861, 4.298 seconds ahead of Webber who started fifth.

Germany's Nico Rosberg, for Mercedes, and Brazilian Felipe Massa, in a Ferrari vehicle, finished fourth and fifth, respectively, ahead of Lotus drivers Romain Grosjean and Kimi Raikkonen, the winner of the Australian Grand Prix last weekend.