Davao Oriental tennis star bags 2 titles in Smart-Head Junior Tennis Davao Leg

Davao Oriental-based netter Jeleardo Amazona swept two titles in the singles championship round of the 2013 Smart-Head Junior Tennis Satellite Circuit Series Davao leg at the GSIS Heights Tennis Club courts here on Friday night.

Amazona shocked top-ranked Angelo Factora of Cotabato City, 6-2, 6-4, in the boys' 16-under finals. Amazona, who was seeded fifth, later also upset second-seed Mikko Ringia of Marbel, South Cotabato, 7-5, 7-5, in their boys' 18-under titular showdown.

Island Garden City of Samal (Igacos) native Lenelyn Milo, now a college varsity player at the University of Sto. Tomas (UST), whipped Ateneo de Davao University High School mainstay Jenni Celine Dizon, 6-3, 6-3, to capture the girls 18-under title.

Carmela Llavore of Cagayan de Oro City, for her part, lived up to her billing by clinching the girls 14-under crown. The No. 1 player crushed Jed Vallie Aquino of Sto. Tomas, 6-0, 6-1, in the finals of the five-day Group 2 event sanctioned by the Philippine Tennis Association (Philta).

The boys' 14-under title went to Lordrence Pacheco who overcame fellow Dabawenyo Stephen Tubbs, 7-5, 6-2 in their championship match.

Janus Ringia and Dana Abad, meanwhile, reaped top honors in 12-under. Ringia of South Cotabato demolished Joshua Regino of Mati, 6-3, 6-3, to annex the boys' title while Abad turned back Maria Novis, 6-0, 7-5, in the distaff side.

Eight-year-old John David Velez of Davao City also shared the limelight by hacking out a 6-4, 6-3 victory over Maria Novis of Malita, Davao del Sur in the 10-under unisex category. Philta ranking points, trophies and tennis equipment were given to the winners.

Next events will be the Group 3 event set at General Santos City Tennis Club on April 7 to 11; Group 2 event at Nazareth Tennis Club of Cagayan de Oro City on April 13 to 17; and another Group 2 tournament at Zamboanga City Lawn Tennis Courts on April 19 to 23.

The rest of the legs will be on April 26-30 in Consolacion, Cebu; May 1-5 in Dumaguete City; May 7-11 in Bacolod City; May 13-17 in Iloilo City; May 19-23 in Baguio City; May 25-29 in Olongapo City; and June 1-7 in Meralco, Ortigas.