Karachi set to host seventeen countries during Asian C’ship

Seventeen Asian snooker teams including Pakistan and India will feature in forthcoming Asian Championship to be held in Karachi from April 27 to May 3.

Sixteen foreign teams confirmed their participation in the event by the tournaments deadline on April 7.

Apart from host Pakistan and archrival India, Afghanistan, Philippines, China, Qatar, Hong Kong, Singapore, South Korea, Iran, Sri Lanka, Iraq, Syria, Kuwait, Thailand, Mongolia and United Arab Emirates will be seen into action during the tournament.

As hosts, Pakistan has been allowed to field eight cueists. As per the latest rankings after the 38th National Snooker championship, top seven players has been selected while Muhammad Asif, being the current IBSF World Snooker Champion gets the direct berth in the event.

Others, who would be representing Pakistan in the tournament, are Hamza Akbar, Imran Shehzad, Muhammad Sajjad, Abdul Sattar, Baber Masih, Shahid Aftab and Abu Saim.