Connect to share and comment

President approves appointment of six addl. Judges of Lahore High Court


President Asif Ali Zardari on Wednesday on the advice of the Prime Minister approved the appointment of six Additional Judges of Lahore High Court for a period of one year. The judges who have been appointed are: Shoaib Saeed, Atir Mahmood, Shahid Bilal Hassan, Miss Aalia Neelum, Shezada Mazhar and Abid Aziz Sheikh. Spokesperson to the President Senator Farhatullah Babar said that these nominations were forwarded by the Judicial Commission of Pakistan to the Parliamentary Committee on Judges Appointment in the Superior Courts which were subsequently forwarded to the Prime Minister under Clause 13 of Article 175A of the Constitution.

The Prime Minister, in turn, advised the President to accord his approval to these appointments and acting upon the advice of the Prime Minister the President assented to the appointment of these judges.