PM for strong publicity of 8th Bangladesh Games

The 8th Bangladesh Games, the biggest sporting extravaganza at the national level, will be held in the capital on April 20-28 this year in a bid to create a scope for the players and athletes across the country to participate in competitive events.

The Games will be held in 31 disciplines having 346 events with the participation of some 10,000 players, athletes, officials, technical officials and other staff.

A coordination meeting of the 8th Bangladesh Games was held on Thursday at the Prime Minister’s Office with Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina in the chair.

After the meeting, PM’s press secretary Abul Kalam Azad briefed reporters.

During the meeting, the organisers made a power-point presentation on the preparation of the Games before the Prime Minister.

Extending thanks for the presentation, Hasina suggested the organisers to strengthen the publicity of the Games. She also underscored the need for associating children and youths more in sport activities in a bid to build their character, create scopes for enjoyment and also keep them away from anti-social activities.

Sheikh Hasina said whenever her government assumed office it gave due importance to sports apart from other nation-building and development activities.

The Prime Minister is the chief patron of the meet while Finance Minister AMA Muhith will act as the Games chairman and State Minister for Youth and Sports Ahad Ali Sarker as co-chairman. The organising committee of the Games comprises of 164 members. The theme of the nine-day meet is ‘Sports in our heart’.

Bangladesh Olympic Association (BOA) secretary general Syed Shahed Reza is the organising secretary of the 8th Bangladesh Games to be held at a cost of Tk 21.74 crore.

The opening and closing ceremony of the Games would be held at the Bangabandhu National Stadium on April 20 and April 28 respectively.

Finance Minister AMA Muhith, State Minister for Youth and Sports M Ahad Ali Sarker, Army Chief General Iqbal Karim Bhuiyan, Principal Secretary to the Prime Minister Shaikh Md Wahid uz Zaman, parliamentary standing committee chairman on Youth and Sports Ministry Zahid Ahsan Russell, Asaduzzaman Noor, MP, Youth and Sports Ministry Secretary Nur Mohammad.

United News of Bangladesh