Fake degree saga: ECP disqualified 11 ex-lawmakers

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Sunday disqualified eleven former parliamentarians for having fake degrees.

Five former lawmakers from Punjab assembly, two from Sindh assembly, one from Balochistan assembly and three from Senate have been disqualified by the commission.

Fake degree holders included former Senators Israrullah Khan Zehri, Rehana Yahya Baloch, Mohabbat Khan Mari and former provincial lawmakers included Samina Khawar Hayat, Seemal Kamran, Shumaila Rana, Shahina Khan, Rana Ijaz Ahmed Noon, Bashir Ahmed Khan, Nawabzada Tariq Magsi and Mir Nadir Magsi.

The commission also directed these disqualified lawmakers to return all amenities they had got during their regime.

The ECP had vowed that the process of scrutiny would continue even after the elections and those found to have deceived would be disqualified even after the clearance of their nomination papers and elections.

Balochistan Times