Connect to share and comment

Reuters Sports Schedule at 0001 GMT on Tuesday Jan 8

Thomson ReutersEnlarge
(/GlobalPost)

Reuters sports schedule at 0001 GMT on Tuesday:

- - - -

GOLF

PGA Tour: Hyundai Tournament of Champions (to 8)

Weather-hit 2013 season opener heading for a Tuesday finish

With high winds making the Plantation Course unplayable over the first three scheduled days at the Kapalua Resort in Hawaii, organisers aim to play 36 holes on Monday and 18 on Tuesday in a season-opening event cut to 54 holes. (GOLF-PGA/, expect update by 0600 GMT/1 AM ET, 400 words)

- - - -

NHL

With a new labor deal in place the National Hockey League (NHL) was back in business on Monday, but some teams may find it easier to hoist a Stanley Cup than win back disillusioned fans. (NHL-LABOR/, (ANALYSIS), moved, by Steve Keating, 500 words)

- - - -

NBA

Bulls host Cavaliers in bid for third straight win

The Chicago Bulls, in a battle for top spot in the Eastern Conference's Central division, seek their third consecutive victory when they host a Cleveland Cavaliers team that has already fallen out of contention. (NBA-BULLS/, expect by 0400 GMT/11 PM ET, 300 words)

- - - -

COLLEGE FOOTBALL

Notre Dame and Alabama clash in national championship

MIAMI - The top-ranked Notre Dame Fighting Irish and No. 2 Alabama Crimson Tide meet in the BCS National Championship to determine U.S. college football's top team. (AMERICAN FOOTBALL-NCAA/ (PIX), expect by 0430 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by Simon Evans, 250 words)

- - - -

TENNIS

ATP: Auckland Open, New Zealand (to 12)

ATP/WTA: Sydney International, Australia (to 12)

WTA: Hobart International, Australia (to 12)

Players to battle oppressive heat in Sydney

Top seed Agnieszka Radwanska will hope an early start against Kimiko Date-Krumm will spare her from the ravages of an expected heat wave in Sydney, while former world number one Carolie Wozniacki will meet two times grand slam winner Svetlana Kuznetsova in the second round. (TENNIS-AUSTRALIA/WARMUPS, (PIX) expect by 0400 GMT/11:00 PM ET, by Greg Stutchbury, 500 words)

- - - -

OLYMPICS

Tokyo bid officials hold news conference

TOKYO - Tokyo's Olympic officials hold a news conference for the announcement of their 2020 bid plan as the city looks to make up for the disappointment of losing out to Rio for the race to host the 2016 Games. (OLYMPICS-TOKYO/ (PIX, TV), expect by 0900 GMT/4 AM ET, by Alastair Himmer)

- - - -

GOLF

Harrington and Goosen talk ahead of Volvo Golf Champions

DURBAN, South Africa - Former major winners Padraig Harrington and Retief Goosen host news conferences ahead of this week's European Tour event, the Volvo Golf Champions tournament in Durban. (GOLF-EUROPEAN/, expect by 1800 GMT/1 PM ET, 350 words)

- - - -

SOCCER

English Capital One (League) Cup semi-final first leg

Bradford aim to continue giant-killing at home to Villa

Fourth tier Bradford City, who knocked out Arsenal in the last round, will be looking to seize the advantage in the home leg against faltering Aston Villa (SOCCER-ENGLAND/CUP, expect by 2200 GMT/5 PM ET, 300 words)

- -

Malaga, Valencia seeking last-eight King's Cup berths

MADRID - Malaga and Valencia can secure a place in the quarter-finals when they host third-tier Eibar and Osasuna respectively. (SOCCER-SPAIN/CUP expect by 2030, pix, by Iain Rogers, 500 words)

- -

Italian Cup quarter-final

Lazio in the mood for more success at home to Catania

In-form Lazio host Catania looking for a spot in the last four (SOCCER-ITALY/, expect by 2200 GMT/5 PM ET, 200 words)

- -

African Nations Cup

South Africa warm up against Norway

CAPE TOWN - Hosts South Africa seek to win over a skeptical public before the start of the Nations Cup with a convincing performance against Norway in a friendly (SOCCER-FRIENDLY/SAFRICA, expect by 2030 GMT/3:30 PM ET, by Mark Gleeson, 300 words) (Duty editor: Patrick Johnston)

http://www.globalpost.com/dispatch/news/thomson-reuters/130108/reuters-sports-schedule-at-0001-gmt-tuesday-jan-8