Connect to share and comment

Reuters Sports Schedule at 0001 GMT on Wednesday Jan 9

Thomson ReutersEnlarge
(/GlobalPost)

Reuters sports schedule at 0001 GMT on Wednesday:

- - - -

SOCCER

Reuters will be moving an extensive African Nations Cup preview package over the next nine days. It starts on Jan. 9 with factboxes on the four teams in Group A - Angola, Cape Verde Islands, Morocco and hosts South Africa. (SOCCER-AFRICA/NATIONS, moving at 0300 GMT/22:00 ET, by Mark Gleeson, 400 words)

- -

Spanish Kings Cup last 16 (2030 unless stated)

Sevilla v Real Mallorca (1830)

Real Madrid v Celta Vigo

Real Zaragoza v Levante

Real under pressure for King's Cup clash against Celta

MADRID - Real Madrid, the 2011 winners, need to overturn a 2-1 deficit at home to La Liga rivals Celta Vigo if they are to secure a quarter-final meeting with Valencia. (SOCCER-SPAIN/CUP (PIX), expect by 2030 GMT/3.30PM ET, by Iain Rogers, 500 words)

- -

English Capital One (League) Cup semi-final first leg

Chelsea v Swansea City (1945)

Chelsea look to put Swansea in their place

LONDON - European champions Chelsea will be out to end a good two-month run by Swansea City in the first leg of the English League Cup semi-finals. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/CUP (PIX), expect by 2130 GMT/4:30 PM ET, 400 words)

- -

Italian Cup quarter-final

Juventus v AC Milan (1945)

League champions take on fallen Milan in last eight

Serie A leaders Juventus host inconsistent rivals AC Milan in the quarter-finals of the much maligned competition. (SOCCER-ITALY/, expect by 2200 GMT/5PM ET, 200 words)

- - - -

GOLF

PGA Tour: Hyundai Tournament of Champions (to 8)

Johnson wins weather-hit season opener

It required a lot patience and overtime but American Dustin Johnson opened the PGA Tour season with a victory on Tuesday at the Tournament of Champions in Hawaii. (GOLF-PGA/, moved, 400 words)

- -

Els, Oosthuizen and Grace talk ahead of Volvo Golf Champions

DURBAN, South Africa - British Open champion Ernie Els, 2010 Open winner Louis Oosthuizen and fellow South Africa Branden Grace, last year's Volvo victor, speak to media ahead of the first European Tour event in 2013. (GOLF-EUROPEAN/, expect by 1800 GMT/1 PM ET, 350 words)

- - - -

NBA

Timberwolves aim to hand Hawks rare three-game skid

Point guard Ricky Rubio is expected to return from injury when the Minnesota Timberwolves host an Atlanta Hawks team that is trying to avoid its first three-game losing skid of the season. (NBA-TIMBERWOLVES/, expect by 0400 GMT/11 PM ET, 250 words)

- - - -

TENNIS

ATP: Auckland Open, New Zealand (to 12)

ATP/WTA: Sydney International, Australia (to 12)

WTA: Hobart International, Australia (to 12)

Top seeds take court in Sydney, Auckland

Men's top seeds John Isner and David Ferrer make their first appearances in the second round of the Sydney International and Auckland Open respectively, while former grand slam champion Svetlana Kuznetsova looks to beat her second seeded player in successive days when she meets Germany's Angelique Kerber in the final match on Centre Court in Sydney. (TENNIS-AUSTRALIA/WARMUPS (PIX), expect by 0800 GMT/3 AM ET, by Nick Mulvenney, 500 words)

- - - - (Duty editor: Patrick Johnston)

http://www.globalpost.com/dispatch/news/thomson-reuters/130108/reuters-sports-schedule-at-0001-gmt-wednesday-jan-9