Connect to share and comment

Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Sunday Jan 13

Thomson ReutersEnlarge
(/GlobalPost)

Reuters sports schedule at 1400 GMT on Sunday: - - - - SOCCER Premier League Manchester United v Liverpool (1330) Arsenal v Manchester City (1600) United host Liverpool, City visit Arsenal LONDON - Manchester United host north-west rivals Liverpool looking knowing they can go 10 points clear at the top of the Premier League with a victory, at least until second-placed Manchester City visit Arsenal in the late game. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/ (PIX), expect from 1530 GMT/10:30 AM ET, by Mark Meadows, 600 words) - - La Liga Real Betis v Levante (1100) Real Sociedad v Deportivo Coruna (1600) Atletico Madrid v Real Zaragoza (1800) Malaga v Barcelona (2000) Barca look to extend lead over Real at Malaga MADRID - Unbeaten leaders Barcelona can pull 18 points clear of arch rivals Real Madrid, who were held 0-0 at Osasuna on Saturday, with an 18th win in 19 matches this season at fourth-placed Malaga. (SOCCER-SPAIN/, expect first take by 2000 GMT/3 PM ET, pix, by Iain Rogers, 500 words) - - Serie A (1400 unless stated) Torino v Siena (1130) Cagliari v Genoa Catania v AS Roma Lazio v Atalanta Bergamo Napoli v Palermo Parma v Juventus Udinese v Fiorentina Sampdoria v AC Milan (1945) Leaders Juventus visit Parma, Lazio host Atalanta ROME - Serie A leaders Juventus visit Parma while second-placed Lazio, who are five points behind, welcome another mid-table side Atalanta Bergamo and Napoli, a further two points back in fourth, host lowly Palermo. (SOCCER-ITALY/ (PIX), expect from 1600 GMT/11 AM ET, by Brian Homewood, 500 words) - - Ligue 1 Stade de Reims v Bastia (1300) Nice v Valenciennes (1600) Sochaux v Olympique Marseille (2000) Marseille can join leaders Lyon with a win at Sochaux PARIS - Third-placed Olympique Marseille can join Olympique Lyon at the top of Ligue 1 and move two points ahead of second-placed Paris St Germain with a win at struggling Sochaux. (SOCCER-FRANCE/ (PIX), expect by 2200 GMT/5 PM ET, by Gregory Blachier, 400 words) - - African Nations Cup preview Reuters is moving an extensive African Nations Cup preview package and we will next be looking at the geographical spread of players' clubs and sending a full list of squads. (SOCCER-AFRICA/NATIONS, moving at 0300 GMT/10 PM ET, by Mark Gleeson, 500 words) Factboxes on all the teams have already moved. - - - - TENNIS Australian Open (14-27) Djokovic begins quest for history at Australian Open MELBOURNE - The year's first grand slam tournament gets underway with men's champion Novak Djokovic taking his first steps towards what he hopes will be a third successive Australian Open title, while women's second seed Maria Sharapova opens proceedings on Rod Laver Arena with a first-round clash with Olga Puchkova. (TENNIS-OPEN/, (PIX), expect throughout from 0000 GMT/7PM ET, by Nick Mulvenney, Ian Ransom, Simon Cambers and Greg Stutchbury) - - - - GOLF PGA Tour: Sony Open, Honolulu, Hawaii (to 13) American rookies and good friends Russell Henley and Scott Langley take a joint three-shot lead into the final round at Waialae Country Club after setting a tournament-record low total of 17-under 193 for 54 holes in the PGA Tour's first full-field event of the season. (GOLF-PGA/, expect end-of-day lead by 0600, 400 words) - - Volvo Golf Champions, Durban (to 13) Briton Jamieson holds five-shot lead in Durban DURBAN, South Africa - Britain's Scott Jamieson has a five-stroke lead over the trio of local favourite Louis Oosthuizen, Frenchman Julien Quesne and Thai Thongchai Jaidee heading into the final round of the Volvo Golf champions tournament. (GOLF-EUROPEAN/ (PIX), by Michael Todt, 450 words) - - - - CRICKET South Africa v New Zealand, second test (to 15) New Zealand on 64-2 at tea PORT ELIZABETH, South Africa - New Zealand battled to 64 for two in their follow-on innings at tea on the third day of the second test against South Africa at St. George's Park.(CRICKET-ZEALAND/, moved, update at close, 400 words) - - Australia v Sri Lanka, Adelaide, second ODI Sri Lanka beat Australia by eight wickets ADELAIDE- Lahiru Thirimanne struck his first one-day century as Sri Lanka levelled the one-day series against Australia with a convincing eight-wicket win. (CRICKET-LANKA/, moved, 350 words) - - - - ALPINE SKIING World Cup Men's slalom, Adelboden Hirscher gets revenge in Switzerland ADELBODEN, Switzerland - Marcel Hirscher got his revenge in a World cup slalom in Adelboden after a last-gasp blunder cost him victory in Saturday's giant slalom. (ALPINE SKIING-MEN/, moved, by Manuele Lang, 350 words) - - Women's super-G, St Anton Maze completes the set with super-G win ST ANTON, Austria - Slovenia's Tina Maze became only the sixth woman to win in all five Alpine ski World Cup disciplines when she took victory in a super-G. (ALPINE SKIING-WOMEN/, moved, by Patrick Lang, 350 words) - - - - NFL Top-seeded Falcons host streaking Seahawks The top-seeded Atlanta Falcons will try to avoid their fifth consecutive playoff defeat when they host a streaking Seattle Seahawks team that is looking for its seventh consecutive victory with a berth in the National Football Conference championship game on the line. (NFL-PLAYOFFS/FALCONS (PIX), expect by 203 GMT/4:30 PM ET, 500 words) - - Pats QB Brady seeks record-setting playoff win over Texans New England Patriots quarterback Tom Brady looks to notch up his NFL-record 17th playoff victory when the AFC East champions host the Houston Texans in the divisional round of the playoffs. (NFL-PLAYOFFS/PATRIOTS (PIX), expect by 0100 GMT/8 PM ET, 500 words) - - - - NBA Thunder look to snap Trail Blazers' home winning streak The Portland Trail Blazer put their nine-game home winning streak on the line when they host an Oklahoma Thunder team that boasts an offensive attack led by Kevin Durant and Russell Westbrook. (NBA-TRAILBLAZERS., expect by 0015, GMT/12:15 AM PM ET, 250 words) - - - - RUGBY Heineken Cup, group stages Copy on merit. - - - - HANDBALL Men's world championship, Spain (to 27) Copy on merit. - - - - (London duty editor: Clare Fallon)

http://www.globalpost.com/dispatch/news/thomson-reuters/130113/reuters-sports-schedule-at-1400-gmt-sunday-jan-13