Connect to share and comment

Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Friday Jan 18

Thomson ReutersEnlarge
(/GlobalPost)

Reuters sports schedule at 0600 GMT on Friday:

- - - -

CYCLING

Armstrong finally admits doping

NEW YORK - Lance Armstrong finally confessed to using performance enhancing drugs during his cycling career, admitting he cheated to win all seven of his Tour de France titles. (CYCLING-ARMSTRONG/, moved, by Julian Linden, 800 words)

We will continue to move updates, sidebars and reaction to the American's admission of using illegal drugs in his first televised interview since he was stripped of his Tour de France titles. Masterslug: CYCLING-ARMSTRONG/

- - - -

TENNIS

Australian Open (to 27)

Venus and Sharapova collide in blockbuster clash

MELBOURNE - Second seed Maria Sharapova faces seven-times grand slam winner Venus Williams in the third round while Novak Djokovic continues his quest for a third successive Australian Open title when he plays Radek Stepanek. (TENNIS-OPEN/ (PIX), expect from 0100 GMT/8 PM ET, by Nick Mulvenney, Ian Ransom, Simon Cambers and Greg Stutchbury)

- - - -

GOLF

Abu Dhabi Championship (to 20)

Rose and Donaldson lead in Abu Dhabi

ABU DHABI - Britons Justin Rose and Jamie Donaldson share the lead on five-under 67 going into the second round while world number one Rory McIlroy and second-ranked Tiger Woods look to rally after opening efforts of 75 and 72 respectively. (GOLF-EUROPEAN/, (PIX), expect from 1200 GMT/7 AM ET, by Tony Jimenez, 500 words)

- -

Mickelson opens 2013 PGA Tour campaign at Humana Challenge

LA QUINTA, California - Long-hitting American Jason Kokrak recorded two eagles in ideal scoring conditions as he charged into a three-way tie for the lead in Thursday's opening round at the Humana Challenge. (GOLF-PGA/ (PIX), moved, by Mark Lamport-Stokes, 450 words)

- - - -

NFL

Ravens Flacco tries to conquer Brady and the Patriots

Joe Flacco, anointed Baltimore Ravens 'General' as the hand-picked successor to the team's motivational leader Ray Lewis, seeks to establish himself among the top quarterbacks when the AFC North champions face the New England Patriots and signal caller Tom Brady in the AFC title game on Sunday. (NFL-PLAYOFFS/AFC, moved, by Larry Fine, 600 words)

- -

Lewis exits NFL or heads to Super Bowl after AFC title game

Ray Lewis will be playing the last game of his brilliant 17-year career with the Ravens or heading to his first Super Bowl in 12 years when Baltimore visits the New England Patriots in the AFC championship game. (NFL-PLAYOFFS/AFC-LEWIS, moved, by Larry Fine, 500 words)

- - - -

NBA

Lakers seek motivational win against champion Heat

The Los Angeles Lakers look to spark a turnaround to their struggling campaign when they host the defending NBA champion Miami Heat in a matchup featuring a plethora of big-name players. (NBA-LAKERS/, expect by 0630 GMT/1:30 AM ET, 300 words)

- - - -

SOCCER

Ligue 1

Olympique Lyon v Evian Thonon Gaillard FC (1930)

Lyon welcome under-strength strugglers Evian

PARIS - Ligue 1 leaders Olympique Lyon face relegation-threatened Evian Thonon Gaillard who will have a weakened side with several players on duty at the African Nations Cup. (SOCCER-FRANCE/ (PIX), expect by 2130 GMT/4:30 PM ET, by Gregory Blachier, 400 words)

- -

Bundesliga

Schalke 04 v Hanover 96 (1930)

Schalke with backs to the wall at season restart

BERLIN - Schalke 04 kick off the Bundesliga year against Hanover 96 following a four-week winter break with coach Jens Keller, appointed late last year, under pressure to turn their season around. (SOCCER-GERMANY/ (PIX), expect by 2030 GMT/3:30 PM ET, by Karolos Grohmann, 350 words)

- -

La Liga

Espanyol v Mallorca (2000)

Copy on merit

- -

Dutch championship

PSV Eindhoven v PEC Zwolle (1900)

Copy on merit.

- - - -

CRICKET

Australia v Sri Lanka, third ODI, Brisbane

Kulasekara bags five wickets as Australia crumble

Right-arm pacer Nuwan Kulasekara claimed a career-best five for 22 as Sri Lanka shot out Australia for 74 runs inside 27 overs in the third one-day international in Brisbane. (CRICKET-LANKA/ (PIX), moved, 400 words)

- - - -

ALPINE SKIING

World Cup: Men's super combined, Wengen, Switzerland

Svindal eyes points in Wengen super-combined

WENGEN, Switzerland - Norway's Aksel Lund Svindal seeks crucial points in a men's super-combined in the absence of World Cup leader Marcel Hirscher of Austria. (ALPINE SKIING/MEN, by Manuele Lang, expect by 1500 GMT/10 AM ET, 350 words)

- - -

RUGBY

Heineken Cup group stages final round (to 20)

Copy on merit.

- - - - (Duty editor: John O'Brien)

http://www.globalpost.com/dispatch/news/thomson-reuters/130115/reuters-sports-schedule-at-1400-gmt-tuesday-jan-15