Connect to share and comment

Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Friday Jan 25

Thomson ReutersEnlarge
(/GlobalPost)

Reuters sports schedule at 0600 GMT on Friday:

TENNIS

Australian Open (until 27)

Federer takes on Murray in semi-finals

MELBOURNE - Roger Federer takes on Andy Murray for a place in the final against Novak Djokovic at Melbourne Park. (TENNIS-OPEN/ (PIX), expect from 0700 GMT/2 AM ET, by Nick Mulvenney, Greg Stutchbury, Ian Ransom and Simon Cambers)

- - - -

NFL

Showdown puts loyalties to test for Harbaughs

Like all caring parents, Jack and Jackie Harbaugh do not play favorites when it comes to their kids, who just happen to be the rival coaches for the upcoming Super Bowl in New Orleans. (NFL-SUPERBOWL/HARBAUGHS, moved, by Larry Fine, 400 words)

- - - -

GOLF

PGA Tour: Farmers Insurance Open, San Diego (to 27)

Snedeker opens Torrey Pines defence in style

SAN DIEGO - While most eyes were on six-times champion Tiger Woods as he briefly moved within a stroke of the lead at the Farmers Insurance Open, Brandt Snedeker launched his title defence in barnstorming style. (GOLF-PGA/ (PIX), moved, by Mark Lamport-Stokes, 450 words)

- -

PGA Tour convert Fisher has ranking in mind at Torrey Pines

SAN DIEGO - With his world ranking having plummeted out of the top 100 from a career-high 17th, Britain's Ross Fisher felt the timing was right for him to try his hand on the PGA Tour. So far, so good for the tall Englishman who surged into contention for the Farmers Insurance Open on Thursday with a sizzling six-under-par 66. (GOLF-PGA/FISHER (INTERVIEW, PIX), moving at 1200 GMT/7 AM ET, by Mark Lamport-Stokes, 550 words)

- -

Qatar Masters third round

Garcia, Kaymer and Rose all in the Qatar hunt

DOHA - Ryder Cup winner Sergio Garcia is tied for the lead after two rounds with team mate Martin Kaymer while world number four Justin Rose is four shots off the pace. (GOLF-EUROPEAN/, (PIX), expect by 1400 GMT/9 AM ET, 400 words)

- - - -

NHL

Habs keep Caps searching for first win

WASHINGTON - The Montreal Canadiens used a four-goal barrage to rout Washington 4-1 and leave the Capitals still searching for their first win of the lockout-reduced season. (NHL-CAPITALS/, moved, by Steve Ginsburg, 400 words)

- -

NHL season settles into furious pace

TORONTO - Instead of the regular 82-game endurance test, the National Hockey League season has turned into a survival of the fittest as teams grapple with a rapid-fire schedule and mounting injuries in the lockout-shortened campaign. (NHL-LEAFS/ (PIX), moved, by Steve Keating, 500 words)

- - - -

NBA

Anthony leads Knicks to win over Celtics

Carmelo Anthony and Kevin Garnett showed no signs of any lingering bad blood between them as the New York Knicks snapped their 11-game losing streak in Boston with a 89-86 win over the Celtics. (NBA-CELTICS/, moved, 250 words)

- - - -

SOCCER

African Nations Cup, South Africa (to Feb. 10)

Zambia, Nigeria in heavyweight contest at African Nations

PORT ELIZABETH - Holders Zambia and Nigeria go head-to-head on Friday in the first heavyweight clash of the African Nations Cup as they seek to break the stalemate in Group C. (SOCCER-NATIONS/FRIDAY, (PIX) moved, by Mark Gleeson, 300 words)

- -

Zambia v Nigeria (1500)

Burkina Faso v Ethiopia (1800)

Zambia meet Nigeria, Burkina Faso play Ethiopia

NELSPRUIT - Holders Zambia go up against Nigeria in the first heavyweight contest of the tournament, followed by a second game in Group C at the Mbomebla Stadium between Burkina Faso and Ethiopia. (SOCCER-NATIONS/(PIX), expect by 1700 GMT/ 12 PM ET, by Mike Collett and Mark Gleeson, 300 words)

- -

FA Cup fourth round

Millwall v Aston Villa (1945)

Villa bid to avoid more embarrassment

LONDON - Premier League strugglers Aston Villa could be on the receiving end of another cup upset after their mid-week League Cup defeat by fourth-tier Bradford City when they travel to second-tier Millwall in the fourth round of the FA Cup. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/CUP, expect by 2200 GMT/5 PM ET, 400 words)

- -

Ligue 1

Valenciennes v Olympique Lyon (1930)

Lyon, level on points with big-spending Paris St Germain, can move clear at the top of the Ligue 1 standings if they avoid defeat at mid-table Valenciennes. (SOCCER-FRANCE/, expect by 2130 GMT/4:30 PM ET, 400 words)

- -

Bundesliga

Borussia Dortmund v Nuremberg (1930)

Champions Dortmund eye second spot with win over Nuremberg

BERLIN - Champions Borussia Dortmund take on Nuremberg with playmaker Nuri Sahin set for an emotional return in front of the home crowd (SOCCER-GERMANY/, expect by 2130 GMT/4:30 PM ET, by Karolos Grohmann, 400 words)

- - - -

CRICKET

South Africa v New Zealand, third one-day international

POTCHEFSTROOM, South Africa - New Zealand have already secured a surprise series win over hosts South Africa and will look to complete a clean sweep in the third and final one-day international. (CRICKET-ZEALAND/, (PIX) expect by 2030 GMT/3:30 PM ET, 500 words)

- - - -

ALPINE SKIING

World Cup: Men's super-G, Kitzbuehel, Austria

Norway's Svindal favourite for Kitzbuehal after Wengen fall

KITZBUEHEL, Austria - Fastest in practice for Sunday's downhill, Olympic champion Aksel Lund Svindal will be the favourite in a men's World Cup Super-G in Kitzbuehel. (ALPINE SKIING/MEN (PIX), expect by 1300 GMT/8 AM ET, by Patrick Lang, 350 words)

- - - -

ATHLETICS

Dubai Marathon

Copy on merit.

- - - - (Duty editor: Peter Rutherford)

http://www.globalpost.com/dispatch/news/thomson-reuters/130124/reuters-sports-schedule-at-1400-gmt-thursday-jan-24