Connect to share and comment

Reuters U.S. Sports Schedule at 2 p.m. EST on Thursday, Jan. 24

PlacardEnlarge
(Globalpost/GlobalPost)

Jan. 24 (Reuters) - Reuters U.S. sports schedule at 2 p.m. EST on Thursday:

- - - -

The duty editor is Steve Ginsburg, 202-898-8427

- - - -

National Football League

Harbaugh family talk about coaching brothers at Super Bowl

The parents and sister of John Harbaugh and Jim Harbaugh, head coaches of the Baltimore Ravens and San Francisco 49ers, respectively, discuss the upcoming Super Bowl showdown in New Orleans between brothers. (NFL-SUPERBOWL/HARBAUGHS, expect by 2000 GMT/3 PM ET, by Larry Fine, 400 words)

- - -

Super Bowl XLVIII: Reed, Brady discuss slide

Ed Reed said he talked to Patriots quarterback Tom Brady about the slide that drew a $10,000 fine from the NFL and has Reed in rehab and recovery mode this week. (FBN-RAVENS-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, 425 words)

- - -

Jets reset

FLORHAM PARK, New Jersey - New GM John Idzik met the media to outline his road map to turn around the Jets after a 6-10 season. (FBN-JETS-NEWS/, expect by 2200 GMT/5 PM ET, by Jerry Beach, The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

- - -

NFL Notebook

The latest news and notes from around the league. (FBN-NOTES/, expect by 0001 GMT/7 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

- - - -

National Basketball Association

Anthony leads Knicks into rematch versus Celtics

BOSTON - The Celtics hope to have more to say about the playoff race at the end of the season than they do at present, when most of the headlines are focused on Kevin Garnett's trash-talking incident with Carmelo Anthony. (BKN-CELTICS-KNICKS-WRITETHRU/, expect by 0330 GMT/10:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 700 words)

- - -

Clippers seek to rebound vs Suns

PHOENIX - .The Clippers try to avoid a third consecutive loss without point guard Chris Paul. The Suns are seeking a positive win with the worst record in the Pacific Division. (BKN-CLIPPERS-SUNS-WRITETHRU/, expect by 0530 GMT/12:30 AM. ET, The Sports Xchange, 700 words)

- - -

NBA notebook

The latest news and notes from around the league. (BKN-NEWS/NOTES/, expect by 0001 GMT/7 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

- - -

College Basketball

Bruins bounce into Wildcat territory

TUCSON, Arizona - No. 6 Arizona (16-1, 4-1) hosts UCLA with second place on the line in the Pac-12. (BKC-ARIZONA-UCLA-WRITETHRU/, expect by 0450 GMT/11:50 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 700 words)

- - - -

Golf

PGA Tour: Farmers Insurance Open, San Diego, California (to 27)

Tiger, Lefty and Bubba among the big names at Torrey Pines

SAN DIEGO - Six-times champion Tiger Woods, three-times winner Phil Mickelson and title holder Brandt Snedeker head a strong field in Thursday's opening round at Torrey Pines for the fourth PGA Tour event of the year. (GOLF-PGA/ (PIX), expect first lead by 2300 GMT/6 PM ET, by Mark Lamport-Stokes, 450 words)

- - - -

National Hockey League

Capitals host Montreal looking to dig out of early hole

WASHINGTON - The struggling Washington Capitals, having been outscored 10-5 so far while giving up an eye-opening five goals on 12 power-play chances, look for their first win of the young season when they host the Montreal Canadiens. (NHL-CAPITALS/, expect by 0300 GMT/10 PM ET, by Steve Ginsburg, 400 words)

- - -

NHL season settles into furious pace

TORONTO - The Toronto Maple Leafs return home to play their fourth game in six nights as the NHL season settles into a furious pace that teams and players are struggling to adjust in a condensed schedule brought about by a four-month lockout. (NHL-LEAFS/ (PIX), expect by 0330 GMT/10:30 PM ET, by Steve Keating, 500 words)

- - -

Blackhawks at Stars

DALLAS - The Blackhawks are 3-0 to start a season for the first time since 1972, but the Stars are 2-1. The two teams split their four games last season. (HKN-BLACKHAWKS-STARS-WRITETHRU/, expect by 0400 GMT/11 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 700 words)

- - -

NHL notebook

The latest news and notes from around the league. (HKN-NOTES/, expect by 0045 GMT/7:45 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

http://www.globalpost.com/dispatch/news/thomson-reuters/130124/reuters-us-sports-schedule-at-2-pm-est-thursday-jan-24