Connect to share and comment

Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Saturday Jan 26

PlacardEnlarge
(Globalpost/GlobalPost)

Reuters sports schedule at 0600 GMT on Saturday:

TENNIS

Australian Open (to 27)

Champion Azarenka takes on China's Li for women's trophy

Defending champion Victoria Azarenka will bid for back-to-back titles at Melbourne Park when she takes on China's late-blooming Li Na in the final of the Australian Open. (TENNIS-OPEN/ (PIX), play starts at 0830 GMT/3:30 AM ET, by Nick Mulvenney, Ian Ransom, Greg Stutchbury and Simon Cambers, 700 words, plus sidebars)

- - - -

NFL

All Stars under orders to treat Pro Bowl seriously

The elite players picked for Sunday's 63rd annual Pro Bowl game in Hawaii have been told they could be playing for more than just their conference with NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell warning the future of the fixture could be jeopardized if there is a repeat of last year's 100-point clash. (NFL-PROBOWL/(PREVIEW), moved, 500 words)

- - - -

NBA

Grizzlies cool off surging Nets

The Memphis Grizzlies handed Brooklyn one of their heaviest defeats of the season on Friday, romping to a 101-77 victory over the Nets. (NBA-GRIZZLIES/, moved, 300 words)

- - - -

NHL

Bruins rebound against Islanders

The Boston Bruins bounced back from their overtime loss to the Rangers by beating New York's other team, the Islanders, in an Eastern Conference matchup. (NHL-BRUINS/, moved, 250 words)

- - - -

SOCCER

FA Cup fourth round

Shocks look possible in FA Cup

LONDON - Manchester United host Fulham and their former striker Dimitar Berbatov while fifth tier Macclesfield will be eyeing a major shock at home to top flight Wigan Athletic. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/CUP, expect by 2200 GMT/5 PM ET, 400 words)

- -

La Liga

Levante v Valladolid (1700)

Real Zaragoza v Espanyol (1900)

Celta Vigo v Real Sociedad (1500)

Deportivo Coruna v Valencia (2100)

Valencia look for quick recovery against struggling Depor

MADRID - After being dumped out of the King's Cup during the week, Valencia are targeting the European qualification places in La Liga when they visit bottom club Deportivo La Coruna on Saturday.(SOCCER-SPAIN/ (PIX), expect by 2100 GMT/4 PM ET, by Iain Rogers, 400 words)

- -

Bundesliga (1430 unless stated)

Greuther Fuerth v Mainz

Borussia Moenchengladbach v Fortuna Duesseldorf

FC Augsburg v Schalke 04

Hanover 96 v VfL Wolfsburg

Eintracht Frankfurt v Hoffenheim

Freiburg v Bayer Leverkusen (1730)

Leverkusen eye win at Freiburg to reclaim second spot

Bayer Leverkusen will be looking to reclaim second spot and cut the gap to leaders Bayern Munich with victory at in-form Freiburg. (SOCCER-GERMANY/ (PIX), expect by 1700 GMT/12 PM ET, 400 words)

- -

Serie A

Lazio v Chievo Verona (1700)

Juventus v Genoa (1945)

Juve bid to reassert lead

Italian leaders Juventus aim to show a mini-wobble is well and truly behind them against lowly Genoa and new boss Davide Ballardini. (SOCCER-ITALY/ (PIX), expect by 2200 GMT/5 PM ET, by Terry Daley, 400 words)

- -

Ligue 1 (1900 unless stated)

Stade Rennes v Olympique Marseille (1700)

Evian Thonon Gaillard FC v Ajaccio

Montpellier HSC v Sochaux

AS Nancy v FC Lorient

Stade de Reims v Toulouse

ES Troyes AC v Stade Brest

Marseille test their away record at fifth-placed Rennes

PARIS - Olympique Marseille can climb to second in the Ligue 1 table when they visit fifth-placed Stade Rennes, while champions Montpellier host lowly Sochaux. (SOCCER-FRANCE/ (PIX), expect by 1800 GMT/1 PM ET, by Julien Pretot, 500 words)

- -

Dutch championship (1845 unless stated)

PEC Zwolle v Heerenveen (1745)

ADO Den Haag v Roda JC Kerkrade

RKC Waalwijk v NAC Breda

Heracles Almelo v PSV Eindhoven (1945)

ROTTERDAM - Second-placed PSV Eindhoven can move back on top of the Dutch league if they beat Heracles Almelo on Saturday as leaders Twente Enschede will be in action on Sunday away at Feyenoord. (SOCCER-DUTCH/ (PIX), expect by 2200 GMT/5 PM ET, by Theo Ruizenaar, 300 words)

- - - -

GOLF

PGA Tour: Farmers Insurance Open, San Diego (to 27)

Woods moves to the front at Torrey Pines

SAN DIEGO - It was just like old times for Tiger Woods at a rain-sodden Torrey Pines on Friday as the former world number one surged into an early three-shot lead in the second round of the Farmers Insurance Open. (GOLF-PGA/ (PIX), moved, by Mark Lamport-Stokes, 450 words)

- -

Qatar Masters third round

Wood in the hunt for elusive title

DOHA - Briton Chris Wood will take a three-shot lead into the final round of the Qatar Masters hoping to end an elusive five-year search for his first win on the European Tour. (GOLF-EUROPEAN/, (PIX), expect by 1400 GMT/9 AM ET, 400 words)

- - - -

ALPINE SKIING

World Cup: Men's super-G, Kitzbuehel, Austria

Svindal looks the favourite in Kitzbuehel super-G

KITZBUEHEL, Austria - Norway's Aklsel Lund Svindal is the clear favourite in the classic Hahnenkamm downhill in Kitzbuehel but all eyes will be on Italy's Christof Innerhofer, sanctioned for ignoring a yellow flag in practice. (ALPINE SKIIING-MEN/, expect 1300 GMT/8 AM ET, by Manuele Lang, 350 words)

- -

World Cup: Women's giant slalom, Maribor, Slovenia

Special day for leader Maze

MARIBOR, Slovenia - Runaway World Cup leader Tina Maze celebrates her near-perfect start of the season in front of her home crowd in a World Cup giant slalom.(ALPINE SKIING-WOMEN/, expect by 1400 GMT/9 AM ET, by Patrick Lang, 350 words)

- - - - (Duty editor: Patrick Johnston)

http://www.globalpost.com/dispatch/news/thomson-reuters/130125/reuters-sports-schedule-at-1400-gmt-friday-jan-25