Connect to share and comment

Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Sunday Jan 27

PlacardEnlarge
(Globalpost/GlobalPost)

Reuters sports schedule at 1400 GMT on Sunday:

TENNIS

Australian Open men's final

Djokovic clinches third successive Australian title

MELBOURNE - Novak Djokovic became the first man to win three successive Australian Open titles in the professional era when he beat third seed Andy Murray 6-7 7-6 6-3 6-2 in a battle of attrition (TENNIS-OPEN/ (PIX), moved, by Nick Mulvenny and Greg Stutchbury, 500 words plus sidebars)

- - - -

SOCCER

African Nations Cup, South Africa (to Feb. 10)

South Africa v Morocco, Durban (1700)

A draw enough to progress for hosts

DURBAN - Morocco have to beat hosts South Africa to stand a chance of winning a place in the quarter-finals while a draw will be enough for the home team in front of a 60 000-strong crowd at the Moses Mabhida Stadium. (SOCCER-NATIONS/SAFRICA (PIX), expect from 1900 GMT/2 PM ET, by Mark Gleeson, 400 words)

- -

Cape Verde v Angola, Port Elizabeth (1700)

Cape Verde on bring of more history

PORT ELIZABETH - Cape Verde can continue their fairytale run if they force a result against Angola at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium. (SOCCER-NATIONS/ANGOLA (PIX), expect from 1900 GMT/2 PM ET, by Mike Collett, 400 words)

We will also move a wrap

- - - -

FA Cup fourth round

Brentford(III) 2-2 Chelsea

Leeds United(II) v Tottenham Hotspur (1400)

Oldham Athletic(III) v Liverpool (1600)

Brentford eye Chelsea shock

LONDON - Third tier Brentford held holders Chelsea before second tier Leeds United host Tottenham Hotspur. The fifth-round draw also takes place. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/CUP (PIX), expect final take by 2000 GMT/3 PM ET, by Justin Palmer, 400 words)

- -

La Liga

Real Madrid 4-0 Getafe

Rayo Vallecano v Real Betis (1600)

Barcelona v Osasuna (1800)

Athletic Bilbao v Atletico Madrid (2000)

Real Mallorca v Malaga (2000)

Leaders Barca seek return to winning ways

MADRID - Leaders Barcelona look to bounce back from last weekend's defeat at Real Sociedad when they host Osasuna.(SOCCER-SPAIN/ (PIX), expect final take by 2300 GMT/6 PM ET, by Iain Rogers, 400 words)

- -

Serie A (1400 unless stated)

Bologna 3-3 AS Roma

Atalanta Bergamo v AC Milan

Cagliari v Palermo

Catania v Fiorentina

Parma v Napoli

Sampdoria v Pescara

Udinese v Siena

Inter Milan v Torino

Napoli and Inter hope to close gap on leaders Juve

ROME - Second-placed Napoli will look to make up some of the six-point advantage for leaders Juventus when they travel to Parma. (SOCCER-ITALY/, (PIX), expect by 1700 GMT/12 PM ET, 400 words)

- -

Ligue 1

St Etienne v Bastia (1300)

Nice v Girondins Bordeaux (1600)

Paris St Germain v Lille (2000)

Ibra back as PSG look to get back on top

PARIS - Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Thiago Motta are back in the Paris St Germain squad as they look to reclaim the Ligue 1 lead when they face Lille at the Parc des Princes (SOCCER-FRANCE/ (PIX), expect by 2200 GMT/5 PM ET, by Julien Pretot, 400 words)

- -

Bundesliga

Hamburg SV v Werder Bremen (1430)

VfB Stuttgart v Bayern Munich (1630)

Bayern have big chance to widen Bundesliga gap

BERLIN - Bundesliga leaders Bayern Munich travel to 11th-placed Stuttgart hoping to stretch their eight-point lead over Bayer Leverkusen. (SOCCER-GERMANY/ (PIX), expect by 1830 GMT/1:30 PM ET, 400 words)

- -

Dutch championship (1330 unless stated)

Vitesse Arnhem 3-2 Ajax Amsterdam

Utrecht v Willem II Tilburg

Feyenoord v Twente Enschede

NEC Nijmegen v Groningen (1530)

Enschede eye top spot, third-placed Ajax face Arnhem away

ROTTERDAM - Steve McClaren's Twente Enschede need a win when they visit Feyenoord on Sunday to regain the lead in the Dutch league. (SOCCER-DUTCH/ (PIX), expect by 1600 GMT/11 AM ET, by Theo Ruizenaar, 400 words)

- - - -

GOLF

PGA Tour: Farmers Insurance Open, San Diego (to 28)

Woods still two ahead after fog delay sets up Monday finish

SAN DIEGO - With only five minutes of third-round play possible at Torrey Pines on Saturday due to thick fog, six-times champion Tiger Woods remains two shots ahead of the field as the PGA Tour event heads for a Monday finish. (GOLF-PGA/ (PIX), expect first lead by 2300 GMT/6 PM ET, by Mark Lamport-Stokes, 450 words)

- - - -

NFL

Pro Bowl at risk unless players perform better

The Pro Bowl's future could be on the line if NFC and AFC All-Stars do not take Sunday's game in Hawaii more seriously after last year's 100-point outcome. (NFL-PROBOWL/, expect by 0415 GMT/11:15 PM ET, 300 words)

- - -

NBA

Lakers looking for upset against Thunder

The struggling Los Angeles Lakers hope to start a climb toward the playoff picture when they host Western Conference powerhouse the Oklahoma City Thunder. (NBA-LAKERS/ (PIX), expect by 0000 GMT/7 PM ET, 300 words)

- - -

NHL

Devils risk unbeaten record vs Canadiens

The New Jersey Devils, the only unbeaten team in the National Hockey League's Eastern Conference, take their 3-0-0 record to Montreal, where the Canadiens have won two in a row. (NHL-CANADIENS/ (PIX), expected by 0230 GMT/9:30 PM ET, 250 words)

- - - -

ALPINE SKIING

World Cup: Men's super combined/slalom, Kitzbuehel, Austria

Hirscher triumphs to thrill Austrian crowd

KITZBUEHEL, Austria - Home hope Marcel Hirscher won with Germany's Felix Neureuther second and Croatia's Ivica Kostelic third. (ALPINE SKIING-MEN/ (PIX), moved, by Manuele Lang, 300 words)

- -

Women's slalom, Maribor, Slovenia

Maze crowned on home snow

MARIBOR, Slovenia - Tina Maze avenged the bitter disappointment of wasting her first chance to win on home snow when she outclassed the rest of the field in a World Cup slalom in Maribor (ALPINE SKIING-WOMEN/ (PIX), moved, by Patrick Lang, 300 words)

- - - -

CRICKET

India v England, fifth ODI, Dharamsala

Reuters coverage of cricket events conducted under the auspices of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) was suspended from Nov. 15.

This is a direct result of a policy decision by the BCCI to exclude news agencies working only in the photographic medium from covering its events. Action Images is a Thomson Reuters business.

- - - -

HANDBALL

Men's world championship final

Classic in prospect as Spain take on Danes

BARCELONA, Spain - Hosts Spain take on European champions Denmark in what should be a mouth-watering final. (HANDBALL-WORLD/ (PIX), expect by 2200 GMT/5 PM ET, 500 words) (Duty editor: Mark Meadows)

http://www.globalpost.com/dispatch/news/thomson-reuters/130126/reuters-sports-schedule-at-1400-gmt-saturday-jan-26