Connect to share and comment

Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Tuesday Jan 29

PlacardEnlarge
(Globalpost/GlobalPost)

Reuters sports schedule at 0600 GMT on Tuesday:

- - - -

GOLF

PGA Tour: Farmers Insurance Open, San Diego, California

Tiger eases to Torrey Pines victory

SAN DIEGO - Tiger Woods withstood a late bogey, double-bogey, par, bogey wobble in strengthening winds to clinch his 75th PGA Tour title by four shots at the fog-delayed Farmers Insurance Open on Monday. (GOLF-PGA/ (PIX), moved, by Mark Lamport-Stokes, 450 words)

- - - -

NFL

Ravens land in New Orleans for Super Bowl showdown

NEW ORLEANS - The Baltimore Ravens arrived in New Orleans on Monday, a day later than their opponents for Sunday's Super Bowl, but inspired by a rousing farewell they received from their most dedicated supporters. (NFL-SUPERBOWL/RAVENS (PIX), MOVED, by Larry Fine, 400 words)

- -

Super Bowl coaches bristle over Obama comments

NEW ORLEANS - President Barack Obama's comments that he would "think long and hard" before letting a son play American football were shrugged off by Super Bowl coaches but there was some agreement from players that the game needed to evolve. (NFL-SUPERBOWL/OBAMA-REACTION (PIX), moved, by Simon Evans, 400 words)

- - - -

NBA

Nets ease to victory over slumping Magic

The Brooklyn Nets used a dominant fourth-quarter display to power away from the struggling Orlando Magic for a 97-77 victory. (NBA-NETS/, moved, 250 words)

- - - -

NHL

Kings look to return to form as they host Canucks

The defending Stanley Cup champion Los Angeles Kings look to recover after a slow start to the season when they host the Vancouver Canucks. (NHL-KINGS/, expect by 0645 GMT/1:45 AM ET, 250 words)

- - - -

SOCCER

Premier League (1945 unless stated)

Aston Villa v Newcastle

Queens Park Rangers v Manchester City

Stoke City v Wigan Athletic

Sunderland v Swansea City

LONDON - Champions Manchester City travel to London to meet relegation-threatened Queens Park Rangers as they hope to make up some of the five-point deficit behind leaders Manchester United. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/ (PIX), expect by 2140 GMT/4:40 PM ET, 400 words)

- -

African Nations Cup, South Africa (to Feb.10)

Burkina Faso v Zambia, Nelspruit(1700)

Nigeria v Ethiopia,Rustenburg (1700)

Zambia need victory to stay alive in Nations Cup

NELSPRUIT - Holders Zambia need victory over Burkina Faso at the Mbombela Stadium to keep up the defence of their title. (SOCCER-NATIONS/ZAMBIA (PIX), expect from 1900 GMT/ 2 PM ET, by Mark Gleeson, 400 words)

RUSTENBURG - Nigeria have drawn their first two matches but now a win over Ethiopia, who lost 4-0 in their last game, to ensure they advance to quarter-final. (SOCCER-NATIONS/NIGERIA (PIX), expect from 1900 GMT/ 2 PM ET, by Mike Collett, 400 words)

We will also move a wrap

- -

Italian Cup semi-final second leg

Lazio v Juventus (1-1) (1945)

Lazio seek to profit from Juve mid-season slump

Serie A leaders Juventus are in the midst of a mid-season wobble and Lazio will be poised to pounce thanks to an away goal. (SOCCER-ITALY/CUP, expect by 2200 GMT/5 PM ET, 300 words)

- -

Dutch cup quarter finals

FC Den Bosch v AZ Alkmaar (1900)

Copy on merit.

- - - -

DOPING

Fuentes to take the stand as Puerto doping trial resumes

MADRID - The high-profile and much-delayed trial of Spanish doctor Eufemiano Fuentes, accused of masterminding a doping ring in cycling, resumes with Fuentes finally taking the stand a day later than originally scheduled. (DOPING-SPAIN/PUERTO (PIX, TV), expect by 1400 GMT/9 A.M. ET, by Iain Rogers, 500 words)

- - - -

ALPINE SKIING

World Cup: Men's/women's city event, Moscow

- - - -

TENNIS

WTA: Pattaya Open, Thailand (to Feb. 3)

Paris Open (to Feb. 3)

Copy on merit

- - - - (Duty editor: John O'Brien)

http://www.globalpost.com/dispatch/news/thomson-reuters/130127/reuters-sports-schedule-at-0001-gmt-monday-jan-28