Connect to share and comment

Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Wednesday Jan 30

PlacardEnlarge
(Globalpost/GlobalPost)

Reuters sports schedule at 1400 GMT on Wednesday:

- - - -

SOCCER

African Nations Cup, South Africa (to Feb. 10)

Algeria v Ivory Coast, Rustenburg (1700)

Tunisia v Togo, Nelspruit (1700)

Ivory Coast to test players ahead of quarter-finals

RUSTENBURG - Ivory Coast have already secured top place in Group D while Algeria were the first team eliminated, leaving the opportunity for both to test new players. (SOCCER-NATIONS/IVORY (PIX), expect from 1900 GMT/2 PM ET, by Mike Collett, 400 words)

- -

Race on for final quarter-final place

NELSPRUIT - Togo need just a draw with Tunisia to go to the quarter-finals for the first time in eight attempts while Tunisia must win to progress. (SOCCER-NATIONS/TUNISIA (PIX), expect from 1900 GMT/2 PM ET, by Mark Gleeson, 400 words)

We will also move a wrap

- -

Premier League

Arsenal v Liverpool (1945 GMT)

Everton v West Bromwich Albion (1945 GMT)

Norwich City v Tottenham Hotspur (1945 GMT)

Fulham v West Ham United (2000 GMT)

Manchester United v Southampton (2000 GMT)

Reading v Chelsea (2000 GMT)

Manchester United seek to stretch Premier League lead

LONDON - Leaders Manchester Untied will be hoping to pull seven points clear at the top of the Premier League with a home victory over strugglers Southampton. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/ (PIX), expect by 2200, 500 words)

- -

Spanish Kings Cup semi-finals

Depleted Real host Barca in Cup semi-final first leg

MADRID - Real Madrid, the 2011 winners, will be missing several key players when they host holders Barcelona in their King's Cup "Clasico" at the Bernabeu. (SOCCER-SPAIN/CUP (PIX), expect by 2200 GMT/5 P.M. ET, by Iain Rogers, 500 words)

- -

Spain presents rules on soccer club finances

MADRID - Spain's secretary of state for sport and the president of the nation's professional soccer league (LFP) detail new rules designed to stop clubs spending more than they earn. (SOCCER-SPAIN/FINANCES, expect by 1500 GMT/10 A.M. ET, by Iain Rogers, 400 words)

- -

Dutch Cup quarter-finals

FC Zwolle v Heracles Almelo (1845 GMT)

PSV Eindhoven v Feyenoord (2045 GMT)

PSV eager to continue goal-spree v Feyenoord

ROTTERDAM - League leaders and Dutch Cup holders PSV Eindhoven will be looking to continue their rampant goal-scoring form when they host Feyenoord. SOCCER-DUTCH/ (PIX), expect by 2200, by Theo Ruizenaar, 300 words)

- -

Mexico open 2013 with friendly against Denmark

The Mexican national team kick off their 2013 campaign with a friendly against Denmark at the University of Phoenix stadium in Glendale, Arizona, the first of five friendlies scheduled for El Tri in their tour through the United States. (SOCCER-MEXICO/, expect by 0530 GMT/12:30 AM ET, 250 words)

- - - -

DOPING

Fuentes won't be forced to reveal client names

MADRID - Spanish doctor Eufemiano Fuentes, on trial for allegedly masterminding a doping ring in cycling, will not be obliged to identify any of the clients whose frozen blood was found in bags seized by police, the judge in the case ruled on Wednesday. (DOPING-SPAIN/PUERTO (PIX), moved, by Iain Rogers, 500 words)

- - - -

TENNIS

WTA: Pattaya Open, Thailand (to Feb. 3)

Paris Open (to Feb. 3)

Copy on merit

- - - -

NFL

'Read option' revolution poses challenge to defenses

NEW ORLEANS - The success of San Francisco's 'read option' offense, with dual-threat quarterback Colin Kaepernick, could mark the start of an offensive revolution and will certainly have defensive coordinators thinking hard in the off-season. (NFL-SUPERBOWL/OPTION (PIX), expect by 2000 GMT, 5PM ET; by Simon Evans, 500 words)

- -

One hot kicker or one cold one could decide Super Bowl

NEW ORLEANS - With four of the last five Super Bowls decided by less than a touchdown, the NFL title clash could come down to a kicking contest between the red-hot Ravens rookie Justin Tucker and ice-cold 49ers veteran David Akers. (NFL-SUPERBOWL/KICKERS (PIX), expect by 1800 GMT/1 PM ET, by Larry Fine, 350 words)

- -

Ravens talk Super Bowl strategy

NEW ORLEANS - Baltimore Ravens head coach John Harbaugh and players talk to the media as they continue preparations for Sunday's Super Bowl clash with the San Francisco 49ers. (NFL-SUPERBOWL/RAVENS (PIX), expect by 1800 GMT/ 1 PM ET, by Larry Fine, 500 words)

- -

49ers prepare for Ravens challenge

NEW ORLEANS - San Francisco 49ers head coach Jim Harbaugh and several of his players talk to the media as they tune-up ahead of Sundays' Super Bowl with the Baltimore Ravens. (NFL-SUPERBOWL/49ERS (PIX), expect by 1700 GMT/12PM ET, by Simon Evans, 500 words)

- - - -

GOLF

Bubba back in action in Phoenix after flu

Masters champion Bubba Watson returns to PGA Tour action at this week's Phoenix Open in Arizona after pulling out of last week's event in San Diego because of flu. Also competing at the TPC Scottsdale are twice champion Phil Mickelson and Germany's former world number one Martin Kaymer. We preview the fifth PGA Tour event of the season. (GOLF-PGA/ (PREVIEW), expect by 0200 GMT/9 PM ET, 400 words)

- - - -

NHL

Blackhawks put undefeated record on line versus Wild

The Chicago Blackhawks look to pad their lead atop the Western Conference when they put their unblemished 6-0 record on the line versus the host Minnesota Wild. (NHL-WILD/, expect by 0415 GMT/11:15 PM ET, 250 words)

- - - -

NBA

Spurs look to tighten grip atop NBA standings

The red-hot NBA-leading San Antonio Spurs set out for their ninth consecutive win and 17th in a row at home when they host the last-place Charlotte Bobcats. (NBA-SPURS/, expect by 0430 GMT/11:30 PM ET, 250 words)

- - - - (Duty editor: Ed Osmond)

http://www.globalpost.com/dispatch/news/thomson-reuters/130129/reuters-sports-schedule-at-1400-gmt-tuesday-jan-29