Connect to share and comment

Reuters U.S. Sports Schedule at 2 PM ET on Friday, Feb. 1

PlacardEnlarge
(Globalpost/GlobalPost)

Feb. 1 (Reuters) - Reuters U.S. sports schedule at 2 PM ET on Friday:

- - - -

The duty editor is Steve Ginsburg, 202-898-8427

- - - -

National Football League

Brothers share stage as Super Bowl coaches

NEW ORLEANS - The boys who shared a bedroom until their college years, share the Super Bowl stage as Ravens coach John Harbaugh and 49ers coach Jim Harbaugh hold a joint news conference in a friendly family affair. (NFL-SUPERBOWL/HARBAUGHS (PIX), moved, by Larry Fine, 500 words)

- -

Goodell to address media ahead of Super Bowl

NEW ORLEANS - The NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell, whose punishments to the New Orleans Saints over the pay-for-pain bounty scandal have made him an unpopular figure in Louisiana this week, talks about the issues surrounding the sport and the Super Bowl. (NFL-SUPERBOWL/GOODELL (PIX), expect by 2100 GMT/4 PM ET; by Simon Evans, 500 words)

- -

Goodell discusses past, future of NFL

NEW ORLEANS -- Commissioner Roger Goodell held his State of the NFL press conference in a city still sour over Bountygate. The focus for Goodell isn't the past. (FBN-NEWS/ (PIX), expect by 2100 GMT/4 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, by Jeff Reynolds, 600 words)

- -

Brothers go head-to-head in Super Bowl like no other

NEW ORLEANS - A National Football League season where nothing seemed to follow the script has produced a classic Super Bowl encounter with a subplot fit for a Hollywood blockbuster. (NFL-SUPERBOWL/ (PREVIEW, PIX), moved, by Julian Linden, 950 words)

- -

Family business

NEW ORLEANS - Coaches Jim and John Harbaugh shared a stage and many memories during a joint press conference Friday, their final scheduled media session before Super Bowl XLVII. (FBN-49ERS-RAVENS-NEWS/ (PIX), moved, The Sports Xchange, by Jeff Reynolds, 800 words)

- -

Game preview

NEW ORLEANS - Analyzing Super Bowl XLVII from every angle. Who has the edge in every category? (FBN-RAVENS-49ERS-NEWS/ (PIX), expect by 2300 GMT/6 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, by Derek Harper, 750 words)

- -

One win from elite

NEW ORLEANS - Joe Flacco is on a roll that could place him in the pantheon of NFL quarterbacks with a positive outcome Sunday. (FBN-RAVENS-NEWS/ (PIX), moved, The Sports Xchange, by Howard Balzer, 750 words)

- -

A closer look at 2013 Hall of Fame finalists

NEW ORLEANS - Legendary players and contributors, from Warren Sapp to Art Modell, are up for enshrinement when the Hall of Fame Selection Committee convenes Saturday. (FBN-NEWS/, expect by 0000 GMT/7 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, by Frank Cooney, 600 words)

- -

Vegas bookmakers backing 49ers in Super Bowl

The San Francisco 49ers can count Las Vegas among their newest supporters for this weekend's Super Bowl, but casinos in the gambling city would prefer they win by a small margin in a low-scoring affair. (NFL-SUPERBOWL/VEGAS, moved, by Frank Pingue, 450 words)

- -

Cowboys' Witten makes good on pledge to serve community

NEW ORLEANS - Dallas Cowboys tight end Jason Witten felt the sting of domestic violence as a youth and became determined to make a difference when he got the chance. (NFL-SUPERBOWL/AWARDS, moved, by Steve Ginsburg, 500 words)

- -

Our 10 -part Super Bowl preview package will also include the following items, which all have moved:

Analysis of where the game could be won and lost (NFL-SUPERBOWL/ANALYSIS); Profiles of key players on both teams (NFL-SUPERBOWL/RAVENS-PENPIX) and (NFL-SUPERBOWL/49ERS-PENPIX);

Facts and figures on the Super Bowl (NFL-SUPERBOWL/FACTBOX); Facts and figures on both teams (NFL-SUPERBOWL/RAVENS-FACTBOX) and (NFL-SUPERBOWL/49ERS-FACTBOX);

Facts and figures on the city of New Orleans and the Superdome (NFL-SUPERBOWL/STADIUM-FACTBOX); a review of all the previous games between the 49ers and Ravens (NFL-SUPERBOWL/HEAD-TO-HEAD); and a full list of results from the 46 previous Super Bowls (NFL-SUPERBOWL/RESULTS)

- -

NFL Notebook

The latest news and notes from around the league. (FBN-NOTES/, expect by 0000 GMT/7 pm ET, The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

- - - -

College Football

Te'o hoaxer discusses abusive history

Ronaiah Tuiasosopo says in the second of his two-part interview on "The Dr. Phil Show" that he was molested as a child. (FBC-NOTREDAME-NEWS/, expect by 2230 GMT/5:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- - - -

National Basketball Association

Showcase games highlighted below; the Sports Xchange covers every NBA game

- -

Heat at Pacers

INDIANAPOLIS - The Indiana Pacers match up well with the Miami Heat, and Pacers can run their streak of regular-season wins against the Heat to three. (BKN-PACERS-HEAT-WRITETHRU/ (PIX), expect by 0230 GMT/9:30 p.m. ET, The Sports Xchange, 600 words)

- -

Bulls at Nets

BROOKLYN - Derrick Rose is nearing a return to the court. The Chicago Bulls won't have him Friday against the Brooklyn Nets' backcourt of Deron Williams and Joe Johnson. (BKN-BULLS-NETS-WRITETHRU/ (PIX), expect by 0300 GMT/10 p.m. ET, The Sports Xchange, 600 words)

- -

NBA notebook

The latest news and notes from around the league. (BKN-NOTES/, expect by 0000 GMT/7 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 600 words)

- - - -

National Hockey League

Showcase games highlighted below; the Sports Xchange covers every NBA game

- -

Wild at Ducks

Anaheim, Calif. - The Minnesota Wild recovered from an 0-3 start by dealing Chicago its first loss. The Anaheim Ducks have only one loss in a 3-2 shootout against San Jose. (HKN-WILD-DUCKS-WRITETHRU/ (PIX), expect by 0600 GMT/1 AM ET, The Sports Xchange, 600 words)

- -

NHL notebook

The latest news and notes from around the league. (BKN-NOTES/, expect by 0000 GMT/7 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 600 words)

- - - -

Golf

PGA Tour: Phoenix Open, Scottsdale, Arizona (to 3)

Red-hot Mickelson in early control of Phoenix Open

Phil Mickelson still holds a commanding four-shot lead when the frost-delayed first round is completed in Scottsdale, Arizona. The American left-hander fired a sizzling 11-under-par 60 in ideal scoring conditions yesterday, lipping out with a birdie putt on his final hole in his bid for a magical 59. (GOLF-PGA/, expect by 0200 GMT/9 PM ET, 400 words)

- -

DUBAI - South Africa's Richard Sterne maintains his one-shot advantage at the halfway stage of the Dubai Desert Classic with a birdie on the 18th as world No. 8 Lee Westwood slips six shots back. (GOLF-EUROPEAN/, moved, 350 words)

- - - -

UFC

UFC 156 preview

Mixed martial arts fans long debated who would win a superfight between then-UFC lightweight champion Frankie Edgar and featherweight standard-bearer Jose Aldo Jr. The pair finally meet Saturday night in the main event of UFC 156 at Las Vegas' Mandalay Bay Events Center. (MSC-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, 650 words)

- - - -

TENNIS

Djokovic back in action in Davis Cup World Group tie

Fresh from his Australian Open triumph, Novak Djokovic will lead Serbia in Belgium while top seeds Spain face a tough opener in Canada. Czech Republic begin their title defense in Switzerland, who will be without Roger Federer is absent. (TENNIS-DAVIS/, expect first take by 2000 GMT/3 PM ET, 450 words)

http://www.globalpost.com/dispatch/news/thomson-reuters/130201/reuters-us-sports-schedule-at-2-pm-et-friday-feb-1