Connect to share and comment

Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Wednesday Feb 6

PlacardEnlarge
(Globalpost/GlobalPost)

Reuters sports schedule at 0600 GMT on Wednesday:

- - - -

SOCCER

Singapore join probe into match-fixing scam

LONDON - Singapore, which European investigators say is the source for hundreds of matches being fixed in a global betting scam, promised on Tuesday to aid the probe but some in the game said many of the revelations were nothing new. (SOCCER-MATCHFIXING/, (WRAPUP 1), moved, by Justin Palmer, 600 words)

We have also moved several sidebars

- -

African Nations Cup, South Africa (to Feb. 10)

Mali v Nigeria (1500)

Mali aiming for first final appearance in 41 years

DURBAN - Mali chase a place in the final for the first time since 1972 while Nigeria hope to repeat their quarter-final heroics of Sunday when they knocked out favourites Ivory Coast. (SOCCER-NATIONS/NIGERIA, (PIX), expect by 1705 GMT/1205 PM ET, by Mike Collett, 400 words)

- -

In Nelspruit: Burkina Faso v Ghana (1830)

Outsiders Burkina Faso take on Ghana

NELSPRUIT - Outsiders Burkina Faso play for a fifth time at the Mbombela Stadium where they hope 'home advantage' will give them the edge over Ghana and a first-ever place in the final.(SOCCER-NATIONS/GHANA, (PIX), expect by 2030 GMT/3:30 PM ET, by Mark Gleeson, 400 words)

- -

World Cup qualifiers

Honduras v U.S.

Mexico v Jamaica

Panama v Costa Rica

Heat on as CONCACAF six vie for World Cup spots

Mexico and United States know from bitter experience they face a path full of pitfalls in the final stage of the CONCACAF World Cup qualifiers which get underway on Wednesday with six teams battling for three places in Brazil. (SOCCER-WORLD/CONCACAF, moved, by Simon Evans, 500 words)

- -

International friendlies

France v Germany

Netherlands v Italy

Belgium v Slovakia

Wales v Austria

Turkey v Czech Republic

Greece v Switzerland

Azerbaijan v Liechtenstein

Croatia v South Korea

Kazakhstan v Moldova

Cyprus v Serbia

Slovenia v Bosnia

Israel v Finland

Spain v Uruguay

Malta v Northern Ireland

Romania v Australia

England v Brazil

Sweden v Argentina

Macedonia v Denmark

Iceland v Russia

Ireland v Poland

Scotland v Estonia

Portugal v Ecuador

Albania v Georgia

Hungary v Belarus

Norway v Ukraine

Big Phil meets favourite customers on Brazil return

BERNE - Luiz Felipe Scolari kicks off his second stint as Brazil coach when they meet England at Wembley and other heavyweight clashes include Spain against Uruguay in Qatar, France v Germany in Paris and Netherlands v Italy in Amsterdam. (SOCCER-FRIENDLIES/, moved, by Brian Homewood, 500 words)

- -

AFC Asian Cup 2015 qualifiers

The 2015 AFC Asian Cup qualifying campaign kicks off with 10 matches on Wednesday. (SOCCER-ASIAN/QUALIFIERS, expect by 2100 GMT/4 PM ET, 400 words)

- - - -

NBA

Lakers hope to grab 10th win in row over Brooklyn

The Los Angeles Lakers shrugged off the absence of Dwight Howard and Metta World Peace but now face the prospect of losing Pau Gasol to injury after their 92-83 road victory over Brooklyn. (NBA-NETS/, (PIX), moved, 250 words)

- - - -

NHL

League leaders clash in San Jose

The two hottest teams in the NHL, the Chicago Blackhawks and San Jose Sharks, clash in California with the league lead on the line. (NHL-SHARKS/, expect by 0645 GMT/1:45 AM ET, 250 words)

- - - -

CRICKET

Australia v West Indies, third ODI

Australia look to wrap up series in Canberra

CANBERRA - Australia welcome opener Shane Watson back from injury as they look to wrap up the series with two games to spare under the lights at Manuka Oval. (CRICKET-WINDIES/, expect from 0815 GMT/03:15 AM ET, pix, 400 words)

- - - -

MOTOR RACING

Formula One pre-season testing

JEREZ, Spain - Lewis Hamilton makes his Mercedes test debut, hoping for a trouble-free day after Nico Rosberg's car suffered electrical problems on Tuesday. (MOTOR RACING/TESTING, (PIX), expect by 1100 GMT/6 AM ET, by Alan Baldwin, 400 words)

- - - -

ALPINE SKIING

World championships second day

SCHLADMING, Austria - Olympic champion Aksel Lund Svindal of Norway and in-form Italian Christof Innerhofer are the favourites for the men's Super-G. (ALPINE SKIING/WORLD, (PIX), expect by 1400 GMT/11 AM ET, by Patrick Lang, 350 words)

- - - -

TENNIS

ATP: Santiago International, Chile (to 10)

Zagreb Indoors, Croatia (to 10)

Montpellier International, France (to 10)

Copy on merit

- - - - (Duty editor: John O'Brien)

http://www.globalpost.com/dispatch/news/thomson-reuters/130205/reuters-sports-schedule-at-0001-gmt-wednesday-feb-6