Connect to share and comment

Reuters U.S. Sports Schedule at 2 p.m. EST on Wednesday, Feb. 6

PlacardEnlarge
(Globalpost/GlobalPost)

Feb. 6 (Reuters) - Reuters U.S. sports schedule at 2 PM ET on Wednesday:

- - - -

The duty editor is Steve Ginsburg, 202-898-8427

- - - -

National Football League

The agent for Super Bowl MVP Joe Flacco believes his client should be the highest-paid quarterback in the NFL. That's saying something considering the landmark $100 million deal Drew Brees scored last summer. (FBN-RAVENS-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- -

Ryan to interview with Saints

Fired Cowboys defensive coordinator Rob Ryan couldn't agree to a contract with the Rams but will interview with the New Orleans Saints on Friday. (FBN-SAINTS-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- -

Eagles don't kick Vick

A $3 million roster bonus due Michael Vick on Wednesday wasn't enough to prompt the Eagles to cut ties with him, a signal he might be around to work with new coach Chip Kelly after all. (FBN-EAGLES-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, 450 words)

- -

Te'o bolts Twitter

Manti Te'o was recently named the most disliked athlete in a media poll, but he's hanging up on social media - Te'o deleted his Twitter account during the Super Bowl. (FBN-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, 350 words)

- -

NFL Notebook

The latest news and notes from around the league. (FBN-NOTES/, expect by 0000 GMT/7 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

- - - -

College Football

SEC standing tall once more

It was Signing Day 2008 when Alabama coach Nick Saban announced a class that opened the floodgates of an ongoing dynasty, and included several players who became first-round picks: Marcell Dareus, Mark Barron, Mark Ingram and Dont'a Hightower. Did any school land another landmark class Wednesday? Also includes a look at TSX's top 10 recruits and where they wound up. (FBC-NEWS/, expect by 0015 GMT/7:15 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, by Doug Bean, 900 words)

- -

Sign here

The stars were falling around the nation on Wednesday, national signing day in college football. Many of the usual suspects had impressive hauls, but there were some newcomers to the prospect-plucking party. (FBC-NEWS/, moved; will be updated, The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

- -

Ole Miss hits it big

The SEC school making the biggest waves wasn't Alabama or Auburn - they didn't exactly disappoint either - but Ole Miss, which landed the nation's No. 1 overall recruit and much, much more. (FBC-MISSISSIPPI-NEWS/, expect by 0045 GMT/7:45 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

- -

CFB notebook

The latest news and notes from around the league. (FBC-NOTES/, expect by 0000 GMT/7 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 600 words)

- -

Note: Team reports outlining the top classes move Wednesday night

- - - -

National Basketball Association

The Sports Xchange covers all NBA games; top matchups highlighted below

- -

Rockets at Heat

MIAMI - Houston has had its problems away from home, and the Heat are almost untouchable at American Airlines Arena with LeBron James dominating of late. (BKN-HEAT-ROCKETS-WRITETHRU/ (PIX), expect by 0300 GMT/10 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 700 words)

- -

Celtics visit Raptors chasing fifth straight win

TORONTO - The Boston Celtics, winners of four straight since Rajon Rondo went down with a season-ending knee injury, continue to battle for an Eastern Conference playoff spot when they visit the Toronto Raptors. (NBA/RAPTORS (PIX), expect by 0330 GMT/10:30 PM ET, by Steve Keating, 350 words)

- -

Garnett won't waive no-trade for Nuggets

Kevin Garnett has been linked to multiple trade rumors, but he's not willing to spike his no-trade clause to open a deal to the Denver Nuggets. (BKN-NUGGETS-CELTICS-NEWS/, expect by 2000 GMT/3 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 300 words)

- -

Lakers' Howard informed he won't be dealt The Los Angeles Lakers might be trying to put Dwight Howard's mind at ease, informing him they're not planning to trade him this month. (BKN-LAKERS-NEWS/, expect by 2030 GMT/3:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 300 words)

- -

NBA notebook

The latest news and notes from around the league. (BKN-NOTES/, expect by 0000 GMT/7 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 600 words)

- - - -

College Basketball

The Sports Xchange covers all Top 25 games; top nightly matchup highlighted below

- -

Minnesota at Michigan State

EAST LANSING, Mich. - Another Big Ten showdown in the state, one night after Michigan's overtime win over 10th-ranked Ohio State, brings the No. 18 Golden Gophers to the Izzone. (BKC-MICHIGANST-MINNESOTA-WRITETHRU/, expect by 0230 GMT/9:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 700 words)

- - - -

Golf

Red-hot Mickelson primed for title defense at Pebble Beach

Phil Mickelson, fresh from a scintillating week of dominant golf at the Phoenix Open where he clinched his 41st PGA Tour victory by four shots, returns to the picturesque surrounds of Pebble Beach Golf Links for this week's Pebble Beach National Pro-Am where he will defend his title. We preview the event. (GOLF-PGA/ (PREVIEW), expect by 0100 GMT/8 PM ET, 400 words)

- -

K.J. Choi wins award for charitable service

K.J. Choi, who has supported relief efforts worldwide as well as programs to help Korean communities, is named recipient of the Golf Writers Association of America's Charlie Bartlett Award. (GOLF-AWARDS/CHOI, moved, 325 words)

- -

Helping hands come up trumps on PGA Tour

LOS ANGELES - Two-time Masters champion Bernhard Langer has visited them on a regular basis, as have fellow former world No. 1's Tiger Woods and Vijay Singh. The people in question are the physical therapists and athletic trainers who ply their trade on a daily basis on the PGA Tour and its senior equivalent, the Champions Tour. We take a close look at their valuable role. (GOLF-PGA/PHYSIOS (FEATURE), expect by 2100 GMT/4 PM ET, by Mark Lamport-Stokes, 650 words)

- - - -

National Hockey League

The Sports Xchange covers all NHL games; top matchups highlighted below

- -

Ducks at Avalanche

DENVER - Youth and energy are on the side of the Colorado Avalanche, who are in the third of a four-game homestand. Anaheim is fourth in the Western Conference at 6-1-1. (HKN-DUCKS-AVALANCHE-WRITETHRU/ (PIX), expect by 0600 GMT/1 AM ET, The Sports Xchange, 700 words)

- -

NHL notebook

The latest news and notes from around the league. (HKN-NOTES/, expect by 0000 GMT/7 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 600 words)

- - - -

Soccer

Final stage of CONCACAF World Cup qualifying

The final stage of CONCACAF World Cup qualifying gets underway with the United States in Honduras, Mexico at home to Jamaica, and Costa Rica traveling to Panama. (SOCCER-WORLD/CONCACAF (PIX), expect first copy by 2300 GMT/6 PM ET, 400 words)

- - - -

Alpine Skiing

Maiden super-G win gives Ligety world title

SCHLADMING, Austria - Utah native Ted Ligety picks the right occasion to win the first super-G of his career, becoming the discipline's world champion. (ALPINE SKIING-WORLD/ (PIX), by Manuele Lang, 600 words)

http://www.globalpost.com/dispatch/news/thomson-reuters/130206/reuters-us-sports-schedule-at-2-pm-est-wednesday-feb-6