Connect to share and comment

Reuters U.S. Sports Schedule at 2 p.m. EST on Thursday, Feb. 7

PlacardEnlarge
(Globalpost/GlobalPost)

Feb. 7 (Reuters) - Reuters U.S. sports schedule at 2 PM ET on Thursday:

- - - -

The duty editor is Steve Ginsburg, 202-898-8427

- - - -

National Football League

It's back to work for Ravens' Harbaugh

OWINGS MILLS, Maryland - Just days beyond the euphoria of winning the Super Bowl, Baltimore Ravens coach John Harbaugh and general manager Ozzie Newsome look to the future and how they can sign their key free agents, including quarterback Joe Flacco. (NFL/RAVENS, expect by 2000 GMT/3 PM ET, by Steve Ginsburg, 450 words)

- -

Titans hire Gregg Williams

The Tennessee Titans hired Gregg Williams as a senior assistant coach after Commissioner Roger Goodell reinstates the man at the center of the New Orleans Saints' bounty scandal. Williams was suspended for the entire 2012 season. (FBN-TITANS-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, 450 words)

See also: MVP Adrian Peterson, who bounced back from a torn knee ligament in 2011 to threaten the all-time rushing record, has surgery to repair an abdominal core muscle injury. (NFL-VIKINGS/PETERSON)

- -

Ryan one of multiple Saints' candidates

Todd Grantham and possibly two others are also in the running to replace Steve Spagnuolo as New Orleans Saints defensive coordinator, a position many report belongs to Rob Ryan if the dispatched Dallas defensive boss wants the gig. (FBN-SAINTS-NEWS/, expect by 2300 GMT/6 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- -

NFL Notebook

The latest news and notes from around the league. (FBN-NOTES/, expect by 0000 GMT/7 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

- - - -

National Basketball Association

Showcase games highlighted below; the Sports Xchange covers every NBA game

- -

Lakers at Celtics

BOSTON - It's not your father's Beantown brawl, but the Los Angeles Lakers and Boston Celtics have center stage in a game thick with star power if not playoff implications. (BKN-LAKERS-CELTICS-WRITETHRU/ (PIX), expect by 0330 GMT/10:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 700 words)

- -

Bulls at Nuggets

DENVER - Two energetic and exciting teams on the rise tip it up in the late national game with Denver vying to get to 22-3 at home this season. (BKN-NUGGETS-BULLS-NEWS/ (PIX), expect by 0600 GMT/1 AM ET, The Sports Xchange, 700 words)

- -

La Dolce Vita escapes Raptors Bargnani

TORONTO - In seven enigmatic seasons with the Toronto Raptors Andrea Bargnani has seldom experienced La Dolce Vita. The sweet life has so far escaped the quiet 27-year-old Roman, the first European drafted first overall, whose play is often as bewildering as a Federico Fellini movie. (NBA-RAPTORS/BARGNANI (FEATURE, PIX) expect by 2100 GMT/1600 PM ET, by Steve Keating, 600 words)

- -

NBA notebook

The latest news and notes from around the league. (BKN-NOTES/, expect by 0000 GMT/7 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 600 words)

- - - -

College Basketball

The Sports Xchange covers all Top 25 games; top nightly matchup highlighted below

- -

Indiana at Illinois

CHAMPAIGN, Ill. - Border rivals who appeared destined to battle for conference supremacy a month ago have gone in opposite directions. Illinois, undefeated entering conference play, is 2-7 in the Big Ten but takes a swing at the No. 1-ranked Hoosiers. (BKC-INDIANA-ILLINOIS-WRITETHRU/ (PIX), expect by 0230 GMT/9:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 700 words)

- -

NC State at Duke

DURHAM, N.C. - Picked to win the ACC in the preseason, North Carolina State (16-6, 5-4) tries to narrow the gap between it and first-place Duke (19-2, 6-2). (BKC-DUKE-NCSTATE-WRITETHRU/ (PIX), expect by 0430 GMT/11:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 700 words)

- - - -

Golf

PGA Tour: Pebble Beach National Pro-Am, Pebble Beach, California (to Feb. 10)

Four-time champion Mickelson eyes second successive win In-form Phil Mickelson launches his title defense and a bid for a second consecutive PGA Tour victory when he tees off in Thursday's opening round at Monterey Peninsula Country Club, one of three venues hosting this week's pro-am celebrity event. (GOLF-PGA/, expect first lead by 2300 GMT/6 PM ET, 450 words)

- -

Trouble-free opening 63 for Joburg Open co-leader Sterne

JOHANNESBURG - South African Richard Sterne, looking to go one better than his runner-up finish at last week's Dubai Desert Classic, fires an eight-under 63 to share the Joburg Open first-round lead. (GOLF-EUROPEAN/, moved, 300 words)

- - - -

Major League Baseball

Boys of Spring

Detailed previews of all 32 teams as they prepare to report for spring training. Includes the state of the team entering spring training, projected lineup, rotation and bullpen and key questions to resolve during Grapefruit and Cactus play. (BBO-TEAMNAME-NEWS/, reports for all 32 teams moving between 0200-0530 GMT/9 PM - 12:30 AM ET, The Sports Xchange, 900 words per team)

- -

MLB notebook

The latest news and notes from around the league. (BBO-NOTES/, expect by 0000 GMT/7 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 600 words)

- - - -

National Hockey League

Showcase game highlighted below; the Sports Xchange covers every NHL game

- -

Lightning at Devils

NEWARK, N.J. - New Jersey tries to remain unbeaten at home but Tampa Bay (6-3) is averaging 4.44 goals per game and almost 29 shots on goal. (HKN-DEVILS-LIGHTNING-WRITETHRU/ (PIX), expect by 0245 GMT/9:45 p.m. ET, The Sports Xchange, 700 words)

- -

NHL notebook The latest news and notes from around the league. (HKN-NOTES/, expect by 0000 GMT/7 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 600 words)

- - - -

Soccer

Beckham hopes to emulate Giggs and Scholes in PSG role

Former LA Galaxy star David Beckham does not expect to be a regular starter at Paris St Germain but he hopes to adopt the same role as Ryan Giggs and Paul Scholes perform at his old club Manchester United. (SOCCER-FRANCE/PSG-BECKHAM, moved, 400 words)

http://www.globalpost.com/dispatch/news/thomson-reuters/130207/reuters-us-sports-schedule-at-2-pm-est-thursday-feb-7