Connect to share and comment

Reuters Sports Schedule at 0001 GMT on Saturday Feb 9

PlacardEnlarge
(Globalpost/GlobalPost)

Reuters sports schedule at 0001 GMT on Saturday:

- - - -

NBA

Heat host Clippers in possible NBA Finals showdown

MIAMI - LeBron James and the defending champion Miami Heat seek their fourth consecutive victory when they host Blake Griffin and the Los Angeles Clippers in a possible NBA Finals preview. (NBA-HEAT/, expect by 0400 GMT/11 PM ET, by Simon Evans, 400 words)

- - - -

NHL

Ducks visit Stars seeking fifth consecutive victory

The red-hot Anaheim Ducks, battling for top spot in the Western Conference, seek their fifth consecutive victory when they visit the Dallas Stars in the lone game on the NHL's schedule. (NHL-STARS/, expect by 0445 GMT/11:45 PM ET, 250 words)

- - - -

GOLF

PGA Tour: Pebble Beach National Pro-Am, Pebble Beach, California (to 10)

Mahan and Knox take early control at Pebble Beach

American Hunter Mahan and little-known Scot Russell Knox, at six-under-par, take a joint one-shot lead into the second round of the pro-am celebrity event. Defending champion Phil Mickelson trails by five strokes after opening with a one-under 69. (GOLF-PGA/, expect by 0030 GMT/7:30 PM ET, 450 words)

- -

European Tour: Joburg Open, Johannesburg (to 10)

Fisher and Sterne share lead in Johannesburg

JOHANNESBURG - Trevor Fisher Jnr, chasing his first European Tour win, shares the lead with fellow South African Richard Sterne after a scintillating nine-under 62 on Friday. (GOLF-EUROPEAN/ (PIX), expect by 1600 GMT/11 AM ET, 400 words)

- - - -

SOCCER

Premier League (1500 unless stated)

Tottenham Hotspur v Newcastle United (1245)

Chelsea v Wigan Athletic

Norwich City v Fulham

Stoke City v Reading

Sunderland v Queens Park Rangers

Southampton v Manchester City (1730)

City look to revitalise title challenge at Southampton

LONDON - Champions Manchester City have the chance to get back to winning ways after consecutive Premier League draws at struggling Southampton while fourth place Tottenham Hotspur host Newcastle United and Chelsea in third play Wigan Athletic. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/, expect by 1445/9:45 AM ET, 500 words)

- -

La Liga

Levante v Malaga (1900)

Real Mallorca v Osasuna (1500)

Celta Vigo v Valencia (1700)

Deportivo Coruna v Granada CF (2100)

Real Madrid v Sevilla (2100)

Real look to claw back ground in La Liga

MADRID - Champions Real Madrid will be looking to close on second-placed Atletico Madrid and leaders Barcelona when they host Sevilla in La Liga on Saturday, with one eye on next week's Champions League visit of Manchester United. (SOCCER-SPAIN/ (PIX) expect by 2100 GMT/4 PM ET, by Iain Rogers, 500 words)

- -

Serie A

Juventus v Fiorentina (1700)

Lazio v Napoli (1945)

Ligue 1 (1900 unless stated)

St Etienne v Montpellier HSC (1600)

Ajaccio v Girondins Bordeaux

AS Nancy v Stade de Reims

Nice v FC Lorient

ES Troyes AC v Sochaux

Valenciennes v Stade Brest

PARIS - St Etienne and champions Montpellier clash at Geoffroy Guichard as they look to stay in the hunt for a European spot (SOCCER-FRANCE/, expect by 1800 GMT/ 1 PM ET, by Gregory Blachier, 300 words)

- -

Bundesliga (1430 unless stated)

Hanover 96 v Hoffenheim

Borussia Dortmund v Hamburg SV

Borussia Moenchengladbach v Bayer Leverkusen

Greuther Fuerth v VfL Wolfsburg

VfB Stuttgart v Werder Bremen

Eintracht Frankfurt v Nuremberg

Bayern Munich v Schalke 04 (1730)

Bayern out to defend perfect record this year

BERLIN - Bundesliga leaders Bayern Munich will be looking to make it four wins from four matches this year when they take on out-of-form Schalke 04, with the Bavarians enjoying a 12-point gap at the top. (SOCCER-GERMANY/ (PIX), expect by 1630 GMT / 11:30 AM ET, by Karolos Grohmann, 500 words)

- -

Dutch championship (1845 unless stated)

ADO Den Haag v NAC Breda (1745)

Groningen v RKC Waalwijk

Heracles Almelo v Willem II

Heerenveen v VVV-Venlo

Vitesse Arnhem v PSV Eindhoven (1945)

Copy on merit

- -

African Nations Cup, South Africa (to Feb.10)

In Port Elizabeth: Ghana v Mali (18h00)

Mali face Ghana in bronze medal match

PORT ELIZABETH - Mali and Ghana meet for a second successive tournament to decide the bronze medal after disappointing semi-final defeats in midweek. (SOCCER-NATIONS/PLAYOFF (PIX) expect by 2000 GMT/ 3 PM ET, by Mark Gleeson)

- -

Burkina Faso and Nigeria prepare for final showdown

JOHANNESBURG - Finalists Burkina Faso and Nigeria round off preparations with pre-final press conferences. (SOCCER-NATIONS/FINAL/ (PIX, TV), expect by 1600 GMT/ 11 AM ET, by Mike Collett)

- - - -

RUGBY

Six Nations

Scotland v Italy, Murrayfield (1430 GMT)

Confident Italy travel to Scotland in Six Nations

Italy, fuelled with confidence after their opening victory over France, play a Scotland side who were soundly beaten by England last weekend. (RUGBY-NATIONS/SCOTLAND, expect by 1600 GMT /11 AM ET, 500 words)

- -

France v Wales, Stade de France (1700)

France and Wales look to stay on course for Six Nations title

PARIS - France and defending champions Wales, beaten in their opening game, look to stay on course for the title when they clash at the Stade de France (RUGBY-NATIONS/FRANCE (PIX), expect by 1900 GMT/2 PM ET, by Julien Pretot, 600 words)

- - - -

ATHLETICS

British Indoor championships/world trials, Sheffield

- - - -

CRICKET

New Zealand v England, first Twenty20, Auckland

- - - -

ALPINE SKIING

Aksel out for revenge in men's downhill

SCHLADMING, Austria - Beaten in the opening Super-G, Norway's Aksel Lund Svindal is out for revenge in the men's downhill at the alpine skiing world championhsips but he faces a tough challenge from strong Italian and Austrian teams. (ALPINE SKIING-WORLD/, expect by 1300 / 8 AM ET, by Manuele Lang, 350 words)

- - - -

RALLYING

Rally of Sweden (to 10)

Copy on merit.

- - - -

TENNIS

ATP: Santiago International, Chile (to 10)

Zagreb Indoors, Croatia (to 10)

Montpellier International, France (to 10)

Copy on merit

- -

Fed Cup first round (to 10)

Results only.

- - - - (Duty editor: Ian Ransom; Asia Sports Desk; +61466151684)

http://www.globalpost.com/dispatch/news/thomson-reuters/130208/reuters-sports-schedule-at-1400-gmt-friday-feb-8