Connect to share and comment

Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Monday Feb 11

PlacardEnlarge
(Globalpost/GlobalPost)

Reuters sports schedule at 0600 GMT on Monday:

- - - -

SOCCER

Premier League

Liverpool v West Bromwich Albion (2000)

Liverpool seek to close gap on neighbours Everton

LONDON - Liverpool can go seventh and three points behind neighbours Everton with a victory over West Bromwich Albion, who are ninth. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/ (PIX), 400 words)

- -

Champions League

United praying Ronaldo does not emulate namesake

BERNE - The Champions League provides a crackerjack of a fixture on Wednesday when Real Madrid hot-shot Cristiano Ronaldo faces Manchester United, the club where he made his name, for the first time. (SOCCER-CHAMPIONS/ (PREVIEW), by Brian Homewood, 600 words)

We will also move a preview of Valencia v Paris St Germain, a list of fixtures and a disciplinary situation.

- -

Valencia, PSG preview Champions League clash

VALENCIA, Spain - Valencia coach Ernesto Valverde, his Paris St Germain counterpart Carlo Ancelotti and players give news conferences previewing Tuesday's Champions League last 16 first leg at the Mestalla. (SOCCER-CHAMPIONS/VALENCIA expect by 1900 GMT/2 PM ET, (PIX, TV) by Olivier Guillemain, 400 words)

- -

La Liga

Real Betis v Real Valladolid (2030)

Betis look to take back fifth place from Valencia

MADRID - Real Betis can regain fifth spot in La Liga from Valencia, who won 1-0 at Celta Vigo on Saturday, with victory at home to mid-table Real Valladolid. (SOCCER-SPAIN/, expect by 2230 GMT/5.30 PM ET, by Iain Rogers, 400 words)

- -

African Nations Cup, South Africa

JOHANNESBURG - A tournament that started off on a damp note quick change into spectacle of some intrigue, filled with shocks and surprise. (SOCCER-NATIONS, expect by 1000 GMT/ 5 AM ET, by Mike Collett, 400 words)

- -

JOHANNESBURG - A defender from the anonymity of the French second division finds a place alongside a Champions League winner in Reuters's team of the tournament. (SOCCER-NATIONS/TEAM, expect by 1000 GMT/ 5 AM ET, by Mark Gleeson, 400 words)

- -

JOHANNESBURG - As the Nations Cup comes to an end, there will be just a brief break before World Cup qualification takes over the African football agenda. (SOCCER-NATIONS/WORLD, expect by 1200 GMT/ 7 AM ET, by Mark Gleeson, 400 words)

- - - -

GOLF

PGA Tour: Pebble Beach National Pro-Am, California

In-form Snedeker eyes his first PGA Tour win of the year

FedExCup champion Brandt Snedeker finally reaped just reward for his red-hot early form on the PGA Tour this year when he eased to victory by two shots at the Pebble Beach National Pro-Am on Sunday. (GOLF-PGA/, moved, 450 words)

- - - -

TENNIS

ATP

VTR Open, Vina del Mar, Chile (1500)

Nadal eyes double success on first tournament back

VINA DEL MAR, Chile - Argentine Horacio Zeballos sprung a major surprise by beating Rafa Nadal 6-7 7-6 6-4 to win the Chilean Open and clinch the first title of his career. (TENNIS-CHILE/, moved, 400 words)

- -

ATP: San Jose Open, U.S. (to 17)

World Indoor Tournament, Rotterdam (to 17)

Brazil Open, Costa do Sauipe (to 17)

WTA: Qatar Ladies Open, Doha (to 17)

Tsonga in action in the Netherlands

ROTTERDAM - Third seed Jo Wilfried Tsonga will take on wild card Igor Sijsling in the first round of the World indoor tournament in Rotterdam on Monday. It will be Tsonga's second tournament this year after his quarterfinal defeat against Roger Federer at the Australian Open. (TENNIS-ROTTERDAM/WORLD INDOOR TOURNAMENT (PIX), by Theo Ruizenaar, 300 words)

- - - -

NHL

Devils down Pens 3-1 second day running

The New Jersey Devils dished out a second 3-1 defeat in as many days against the Pittsburgh Penguins on Sunday to strengthen their position at the top of the Eastern Conference. (NHL-DEVILS/, moved, 250 words)

- - - -

DOPING

Basso, Jaksche testify in Operation Puerto trial

MADRID - Riders Ivan Basso and Jorg Jaksche are due to take the stand in the trial of a Spanish doctor and four others accused of running a doping ring in cycling. (DOPING-SPAIN/PUERTO/ (TV), expect by 1300 GMT/8 AM ET, by Iain Rogers, 500 words)

- - - -

ALPINE SKIING

World championships, Men's super combined

SCHLADMING, Austria - With two medals already collected at the alpine skiing world championships, Norway's Aksel Lund Svindal is the obvious favourite to win the super-combined gold medal for the third time in succession. Manuele Lang reports. (ALPINE SKIING/WORLD), expect by 1900 GMT/2 PM ET, 350 words) (Duty editor: Peter Rutherford)

http://www.globalpost.com/dispatch/news/thomson-reuters/130210/reuters-sports-schedule-at-1400-gmt-sunday-feb-10