Connect to share and comment

Reuters U.S. Sports Schedule at 2 PM EST on Wednesday, Feb. 20

PlacardEnlarge
(Globalpost/GlobalPost)

Feb. 20 (Reuters) - Reuters U.S. sports schedule at 2 PM ET on Wednesday:

- - - -

The duty editor is Steve Ginsburg, 202-898-8427

- - - -

National Football League

Ten to watch in Indy

There's enough interest to go around with 330 pro prospects converging in Indianapolis for the 2013 NFL Scouting Combine. From Manti Te'o to Tyrann Mathieu, here are 10 to watch this weekend. (FBN-NEWS/, expect by 2000 GMT/3 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, by Dane Brugler, 700 words)

- -

Top 250

Rankings for the top 250 prospects in the 2013 NFL Draft. (FBN-NEWS/, expect by 2200 GMT/5 PM ET, by NFLDRAFTSCOUT.com, distributed by The Sports Xchange)

- -

Top receiver Allen won't work out at Combine

Projected by NFLDraftScout.com as the No. 1 receiver in the NFL Draft and a potential first-round pick in April, Keenan Allen is reported to have experienced swelling in his left knee during his training for the Combine and will not work out this week. (FBN-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, 350 words)

- -

MIT grad is first female combine participant

For the first time ever, a female is participating in an NFL regional combine. The 28-year-old kicker hopes to break more barriers. (FBN-NEWS/, expect by 2030 GMT/3:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 350 words)

- -

Dolphins locked in on WR Wallace

The rumor mill is linking WR Greg Jennings to his former coach and the Miami Dolphins, but it appears coach Joe Philbin and the franchise braintrust prefers Steelers free agent Mike Wallace. (FBN-DOLPHINS-NEWS/, expect by 2030 GMT/3:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 350 words)

- -

NFL notebook

The latest news and notes from around the league. (FBN-NOTES/, expect by 0000 GMT/7 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 600 words)

- - - -

College Football

Miami gets 'lack of institutional control' accusation

Even with its admittedly flawed investigation thinned by throwing out unethically gathered information from a shared attorney who represented Nevin Shapiro, the NCAA delivers a Notice of Allegations to the University of Miami. President Donna Shalala didn't wait the allowed 90 days for a formal response, and comes out swinging. (FBC-MIAMI-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, 600 words)

- - - -

National Basketball Association

Showcase games highlighted below; the Sports Xchange covers every NBA game

- -

Gay looks to push Raptors toward playoff spot

TORONTO - Rudy Gay, who has single-handedly breathed new life into the long struggling Toronto Raptors since his acquisition last month, plays his first game against his former team as the Memphis Grizzlies complete a two-game road trip. (NBA-RAPTORS/ (PIX), expect by 0315 GMT/10:15 PM ET, by Frank Pingue, 300 words)

- -

Pacers at Knicks

INDIANAPOLIS - The balanced Indiana Pacers (32-21) and New York Knicks (32-18) resume jostling for position as two challengers to the East champion Miami Heat. (BKN-PACERS-KNICKS-WRITETHRU/ (PIX), expect by 0245 GMT/9:45 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 750 words)

- -

Celtics at Lakers

LOS ANGELES - The Lakers mourn the loss of owner Jerry Buss with their most famous rival from days gone by at Staples Center and trade rumors swirling around both teams. (BKN-CELTICS-LAKERS-WRITETHRU/ (PIX), expect by 0600 GMT/1 AM ET, The Sports Xchange, 750 words)

- -

NBA notebook

The latest news and notes from around the league. (BKN-NOTES/, expect by 0000 GMT/7 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 600 words)

- - - -

College Basketball

Showcase games highlighted below; the Sports Xchange covers all Top 25 games

- -

Santa Clara at Gonzaga

SPOKANE, Wash. - Gonzaga can grab its 26th victory of the season and maintain the nation's highest winning percentage with a ninth consecutive win. (BKC-GONZAGA-SANTACLARA-WRITETHRU/ (PIX), expect by 0600 GMT/1 AM ET, The Sports Xchange, 700 words)

- -

First place at stake in Big 12 showdown

STILLWATER, Okla. - Oklahoma State (19-5, 9-3) and Kansas (21-4, 9-3) are one-half game behind Kansas State in the Big 12 standings with Wednesday's winner taking sole possession of first place in the conference. (BKC-OKLAHOMASTATE-KANSAS/ (PIX), expect by 0430 GMT/11:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 700 words)

- -

Orange put squeeze on Providence

SYRACUSE - Syracuse (21-4, 9-3) has a 37-game home winning streak on the line but the eighth-ranked Orange might get a surprising test from Providence, which has four consecutive wins in Big East competition for the first time in nine years. (BKC-SYRACUSE-PROVIDENCE/ (PIX), expect by 0230 GMT/9:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 700 words)

- -

CBK Notebook

The latest news and notes from around the league. (FBN-NOTES/, expect by 0000 GMT/7 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

- - - -

Golf

PGA Tour: WGC-Accenture Match Play Championship

Woods and McIlroy primed for first round at Dove Mountain

MARANA, Arizona - Three-time winner Tiger Woods will make his second PGA Tour start of the year when he takes on fellow American Charles Howell III in Wednesday's opening round at Dove Mountain. Northern Irish world number one Rory McIlroy faces Ireland's Shane Lowry. (GOLF-PGA/MATCHPLAY (PIX), expect first lead by 2000 GMT/3 PM ET, by Mark Lamport-Stokes, 450 words)

See also: MARANA, Arizona - Play was suspended because of driving rain and snow in the opening round of the WGC-Accenture Match Play Championship. (GOLF-PGA/MATCHPLAY-SUSPENSION (PIX)

- - - -

Major League Baseball

Yankees sit Hughes with back woes

The New York Yankees are shutting down right-hander Phil Hughes for two weeks because of a bulging disk in his back. (BBO-YANKEES-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, 300 words)

- -

Red Sox reel in Carp

The Boston Red Sox acquire first baseman-outfielder Mike Carp from the Seattle Mariners for a player to be named or cash considerations. (BBO-REDSOX-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, 300 words)

- -

Jurrjens brings depth to O's rotation

Baltimore's young rotations welcomes right-hander Jair Jurrjens, and the former Braves' starter should supply needed depth for the Orioles. (BBO-ORIOLES-NEWS/ FEATURE, expect by 0030 GMT/7:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- -

Counting on Yunel

Yunel Escobar's reputation precedes him, but with a fresh start in new surroundings, the Rays are banking on their new shortstop to deliver. (BBO-RAYS-NEWS/ FEATURE, expect by 0030 GMT/7:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- -

MLB Notebook

The latest news and notes from the Grapefruit and Cactus leagues. (BBO-NEWS/NOTES/, expect by 0000 GMT/7 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

- - - -

National Hockey League

Showcase games highlighted below; the Sports Xchange covers every NHL game

- -

Flyers at Penguins

PITTSBURGH - Sidney Crosby is sparking the Penguins turnaround to sit tied atop the Atlantic Division as Philadelphia has been grounded with three losses in its past four games. (HKN-PENGUINS-FLYERS-WRITETHRU/ (PIX), expect by 0300 GMT/10 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 700 words)

- -

Hossa head injury clouds future, Hawks' hot streak

The Chicago Blackhawks have a season-long points streak but Tuesday might have lost Marian Hossa to a head injury on a play to be reviewed this afternoon by the NHL. (HKN-BLACKHAWKS-NEWS/, expect by 2230 GMT/5:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- -

NHL notebook

The latest news and notes from around the league. (HKN-NOTES/, expect by 0000 GMT/7 p.m. ET, The Sports Xchange, 600 words)

- - - -

Tennis

Serena pulls out from Dubai with back injury

DUBAI - Serena Williams withdraws from the Dubai Championships because of a lower back injury just minutes before she was due on court for a second round match against Frenchwoman Marion Bartoli. (TENNIS-WOMEN/DUBAI-SERENA (PIX), moved; may be led, by Matt Smith, 250 words)

- -

Defending champion Radwanska into Dubai quarter-finals

DUBAI - World No. 4 Agnieszka Radwanska overcomes a misfiring serve to beat Kazakh teenager Yulia Putintseva 7-5 6-3 in the second round of the Dubai women's tennis championships. (TENNIS-WOMEN/DUBAI, moved; will be led, by Matt Smith, 400 words)

- -

Red-hot Raonic in action at Memphis International

Canada's big-serving Milos Raonic, fresh from winning his third straight San Jose Open title, is among those in action at the Memphis International. (TENNIS-MEMPHIS/, expect by 0530 GMT/12:30 AM ET, 250 words)

- - - -

Olympics

Yordanov returns gold in protest at wrestling's demise

SOFIA - Bulgarian wrestling federation president Valentin Yordanov sends back his Olympic gold medal from the 1996 Atlanta Games, protesting against the International Olympic Committee recommendation to drop the sport from the Games. (OLYMPICS-WRESTLING/BULGARIA, moved, by Angel Krasimirov, 475 words)

http://www.globalpost.com/dispatch/news/thomson-reuters/130220/reuters-us-sports-schedule-at-2-pm-est-wednesday-feb-20