Connect to share and comment

Reuters U.S. Sports Schedule at 2 PM EST on Thursday, Feb. 21

PlacardEnlarge
(Globalpost/GlobalPost)

Feb. 21 (Reuters) - Reuters U.S. sports schedule at 2 PM ET on Thursday:

- - - -

The duty editor is Steve Ginsburg, 202-898-8427

- - - -

National Football League

49ers listening on QB Smith

INDIANAPOLIS - General manager Trent Baalke says the San Francisco 49ers aren't committed to trading QB Alex Smith, but the team is working through its options. (FBN-49ERS-NEWS/, expect by 0000 GMT/7 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- -

Tackling the line

INDIANAPOLIS - Offensive linemen get all the attention at the 2013 Scouting Combine today, including three of NFLDraftScout.com's top 15 prospects. (FBN-NEWS/, expect by 0100 GMT/8 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 650 words)

- -

Kelly getting comfortable in Philly digs

INDIANAPOLIS - Chip Kelly hasn't been in the NFL for long, but he's already warming up to his new digs in Philadelphia. (FBN-EAGLES-NEWS/, expect by 0030 GMT/7:30 PM ET, 600 words, The Sports Xchange)

- -

QB questions

INDIANAPOLIS - On Day One of the Scouting Combine, coaches and personnel bosses are grilled over the current state of their team's most important position. From Peyton Manning to Jay Cutler, Matt Cassel to Mark Sanchez, QB issues were a hot topic leading into alight free agency class and a draft that doesn't appear to offer immediate answers. (FBN-NEWS/, expect by 0100 GMT/8 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- -

Top-rated CB Milliner needs surgery

INDIANAPOLIS - Top-ranked cornerback Dee Milliner from Alabama will require surgery to repair a torn labrum. If he proves his speed when he runs the 40-yard dash Tuesday, Milliner is still likely to be a top-10 pick. (FBN-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, 350 words)

- -

Tebow calls audible

The leaders of a Dallas church are disappointed that New York Jets quarterback Tim Tebow will not be speaking as part of a month-long celebration surrounding the grand opening of a $130 million, state-of-the-art campus on Easter Sunday. (PEOPLE/TEBOW, expect by 2000 GMT/3 PM ET, 400 words)

- -

NFL notebook

The latest news and notes from around the league. (FBN-NOTES/, expect by 0000 GMT/7 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 600 words)

- - - -

National Basketball Association

Showcase games highlighted below; the Sports Xchange covers every NBA game

- -

Trade deadline recap

Summarizing the movers, shakers and newsmakers as the NBA trade deadline passes. (BKN-NEWS/, expect by 2330 GMT/6:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

- -

Heat at Bulls

CHICAGO - The Bulls try to leave their first-half home issues behind them with defending champion Miami in town. (BKN-BULLS-HEAT-WRITETHRU/ (PIX), expect by 0345 GMT/10:45 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 750 words)

- -

Spurs at Clippers

LOS ANGELES - The Clippers (39-17) saddle up against San Antonio in a rematch (43-12) of Western Conference playoff series dominated last summer by the Spurs. (BKN-SPURS-CLIPPERS-WRITETHRU/, expect by 0600 GMT/1 AM ET, The Sports Xchange, 750 words)

- -

NBA notebook

The latest news and notes from around the league. (BKN-NOTES/, expect by 0000 GMT/7 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 600 words)

- - - -

College Basketball

Showcase games highlighted below; the Sports Xchange covers all Top 25 games

- -

Duke at Virginia Tech

BLACKSBURG, Va. - Duke returns to action after an upset loss at Maryland. The Blue Devils shouldn't see anything resembling past ghosts at Virginia Tech, which is just 2-10 in ACC play this season. (BKC-DUKE-VIRGINIATECH-WRITETHRU/ (PIX), expect by 0430 GMT/11:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 700 words)

- -

Cal at Oregon

EUGENE, Ore. - Oregon is 15-1 at home, but expects a riled bunch of Bears from Cal. At 8-5 in the Pac-12, the Bears are still within striking distance and have been in the spotlight this week. (BKC-OREGON-CAL-WRITETHRU/ (PIX), expect by 0445 GMT/11:45 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 700 words)

- -

CBK Notebook

The latest news and notes from around the league. (FBN-NOTES/, expect by 0000 GMT/7 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

- - - -

Golf

PGA Tour: WGC-Accenture Match Play Championship

Woods and McIlroy set to start in snow-delayed first round

MARANA, Arizona - Three-time winner Tiger Woods and Northern Irish world No. 1 Rory McIlroy are both scheduled to start their first-round matches at Dove Mountain where almost two inches of snow forced play to be abandoned on Wednesday and delayed on Thursday. (GOLF-PGA/MATCHPLAY (PIX), expect first lead by 2300 GMT/6 PM ET, by Mark Lamport-Stokes, 450 words)

- -

Thai duo share lead after first round in Myanmar

Big-hitting Thailand duo Chapchai Nirat and Kiradech Aphibarnrat make full use of low-scoring conditions to share the lead after the opening round of the Myanmar Open. (GOLF-ASIA/MYANMAR, moved, 300 words)

- - - -

Major League Baseball

Chapman's big turn

Flame-throwing left-hander Aroldis Chapman's transition the starting rotation could be the biggest key to the Cincinnati Reds' 2013 season. (BBO-REDS-NEWS/FEATURE, expect by 0030 GMT/7:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

- -

Cubs expect depth to help them cope with injuries

Though right-hander Matt Garza's muscle strain is considered only a minor setback, the Cubs believe they have the depth to hold up if their arms break down. (BBO-CUBS-NEWS/FEATURE, expect by 2345 GMT/6:45 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- -

MLB Notebook

The latest news and notes from the Grapefruit and Cactus leagues. (BBO-NEWS/NOTES, expect by 0000 GMT/7 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

- - - -

National Hockey League

Showcase games highlighted below; the Sports Xchange covers every NHL game

- -

Struggling Sabres begin new era with visit to Maple Leafs

TORONTO - The Toronto Maple Leafs host a struggling Buffalo Sabres team playing their first game since Lindy Ruff, who had been the longest-tenured head coach in the NHL, was fired. (NHL-MAPLELEAFS/ (PIX), expect by 0330 GMT/10:30 PM ET, by Frank Pingue, 350 words)

- -

Canucks at Stars

DALLAS - Vancouver, which takes the ice without Jannik Hansen, who was suspended for his hit earlier in the week on Blackhawks' star Marian Hossa, tries to snap a three-game losing streak. (HKN-CANUCKS-STARS-WRITETHRU/ (PIX), expect by 10:30 p.m. ET, The Sports Xchange, 700 words)

- - - -

Tennis

Giant killer Sock takes on Blake

MEMPHIS - Jack Sock, who took out world No. 14 Milos Raonic on Wednesday, now faces fellow wild-card James Blake in a match-up of Americans at the $1.2 million Memphis International hardcourt tournament. (TENNIS/MEMPHIS, expect by 0600/1 a.m. ET, 300 words)

- -

Stosur extends miserable run with Dubai exit

DUBAI - Samantha Stosur's season of woe continues at the Dubai Championships as she crashes out in the quarterfinals following a 6-2 6-4 defeat by Italian Roberta Vinci. (TENNIS-WOMEN/DUBAI (UPDATE 1, PIX), moved, by Matt smith 525 words)

- -

Federer plays big brother to village children

GOVHU, South Africa - "Big brother Roger," as the village schoolteachers call him, smiles at the small children and asks them to guess which sport he plays. Most of the bright-eyed 3-year-olds have no idea who their visitor is but one, quicker than the rest, pipes up: "You play tennis!" (TENNIS-SAFRICA/FEDERER (FEATURE, PIX), moved, by Xola Potelwa, 750 words)

- - - -

Oscar Pistorius

South Africa puts top detective on Pistorius case

PRETORIA - South African police investigating Oscar Pistorius for murder pull their lead detective off the "Blade Runner" athlete's case after it emerges he himself faces attempted murder charges for shooting at a minibus. (SAFRICA-PISTORIUS, moved; may be led, by Peroshni Govender, 900 words)

http://www.globalpost.com/dispatch/news/thomson-reuters/130221/reuters-us-sports-schedule-at-2-pm-est-thursday-feb-21