Connect to share and comment

Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Sunday Feb 24

PlacardEnlarge
(Globalpost/GlobalPost)

Reuters sports schedule at 0600 GMT on Sunday:

----

GOLF

PGA Tour: WGC-Accenture Match Play Championship (to 24)

Matchplay specialists Mahan and Poulter clash at Dove Mountain

MARANA, Arizona - Defending champion Hunter Mahan takes on 2010 winner Ian Poulter of Britain in a mouth-watering semi-final at Dove Mountain where American Matt Kuchar and Australian Jason Day also meet in the last four. The final will follow. (GOLF-PGA/MATCHPLAY (PIX), expect first lead by 2000 GMT/3 PM ET, by Mark Lamport-Stokes, 450 words)

----

NBA

Clippers host Jazz, try to rebound from Spurs' loss

Pacific Division leaders the Los Angeles Clippers hope to put Thursday's thrashing by the San Antonio Spurs behind them when they host the Utah Jazz, who have won three in a row. (NBA-CLIPPERS/, expect by 0630 GMT/0130 ET, 250 words)

- - - -

NHL

Canadiens go back top of East

The Montreal Canadiens have claimed their second victory of the week against the New York Rangers, prevailing 3-0 on Saturday to reclaim sole possession of first place in the Eastern Conference. (NHL-CANADIENS/ (PIX), moved, 200 words)

- - - -

SOCCER

Premier League (1330)

Manchester City v Chelsea

Newcastle United v Southampton

Managers under pressure as Manchester City host Chelsea

MANCHESTER, England - Second-placed Manchester City welcome Chelsea, who are four points behind them in third, with their respective managers Roberto Mancini and Rafa Benitez under pressure as their teams trail runaway Premier League leaders Manchester United. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/CITY (PIX), expect by 1530 GMT/10:30 AM ET, by Sonia Oxley, 500 words)

- -

English League (Capital One) Cup Final

Bradford City v Swansea City (1600)

Swansea face fourth tier Bradford in League Cup final

LONDON - Swansea City are runaway favourites to net their first major English trophy when they take on fourth tier Bradford City in the League Cup final at Wembley Stadium. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/CUP (PIX), expect by 1800 GMT/1 PM ET, by Mike Collett, 600 words)

- -

La Liga

Rayo Vallecano v Real Valladolid (1100)

Celta Vigo v Granada CF (1600)

Atletico Madrid v Espanyol (1800)

Real Betis v Malaga (2000)

Atletico have dual purpose when they face Espanyol

MADRID - Second-placed Atletico Madrid will have one eye on next week's King's Cup semi-final second leg against Sevilla when they host in-form Espanyol looking to cut the gap on leaders Barcelona. (SOCCER-SPAIN/ (PIX), expect by 2100, by Mark Elkington, 500 words)

MADRID - Holders Barcelona have an away goal for when they host Real Madrid in a King's Cup semi-final second leg on Tuesday with the tie level at 1-1 - the first of two 'clasicos' in a week for the Spanish giants. (SOCCER-SPAIN/CUP(PREVIEW) expect by 1300, by Iain Rogers, 500 words)

- -

Serie A

Sampdoria v Chievo Verona (1130)

Atalanta Bergamo v AS Roma (1400)

Bologna P-P Fiorentina

Cagliari v Torino (1400)

Juventus v Siena (1400)

Parma v Catania (1400)

Inter Milan v AC Milan (1945)

MILAN - AC Milan, buoyed by a midweek Champions League win over Barcelona, will have Mario Balotelli champing at the bit to face former side Inter Milan after Serie A leaders Juventus host lowly Siena bidding to extend their lead to seven points. (SOCCER-ITALY/ (PIX), expect from 1600 GMT/11 AM ET, by Brian Homewood, 500 words)

- -

Ligue 1

Olympique Lyon v FC Lorient (1300)

Girondins Bordeaux v Stade Brest (1600)

Paris St Germain v Olympique Marseille (2000)

Beckham set to make his debut as PSG host Marseille

PARIS - Former England captain David Beckham is expected to make his debut at his new French side Paris St Germain when the Ligue 1 leaders take on Olympique Marseille. (SOCCER-FRANCE/, (PIX), expect from 1500 GMT/10 AM ET, by Gregory Blachier, 500 words)

- -

Bundesliga

Borussia Moenchengladbach v Borussia Dortmund (1430)

Greuther Fuerth v Bayer Leverkusen (1630)

Second-placed Borussia Dortmund visit third placed Borussia Moenchengladbach in a match which, with Bayern Munich 18 points clear, is more about Champions League qualification than the Bundesliga title. (SOCCER-GERMANY/ (PIX), expect from 1630 GMT/1130 ET, by Karolos Grohmann, 500 words)

- -

Dutch Championship

Feyenoord v PSV Eindhoven (1130)

Ajax Amsterdam v ADO Den Haag (1330)

Utrecht v Roda JC Kerkrade (1330)

AZ Alkmaar v NAC Breda (1530)

ROTTERDAM - Leaders Eindhoven travel to fourth-placed Feyenoord in one of the key matches of the season with Ajax ready to pounce on any slipups. (SOCCER-DUTCH/, expect from 1330 GMT/8:30 AM ET, by Theo Ruizenaar, 400 words)

- -

RUGBY

Six Nations championship

Scotland v Ireland, Murrayfield (1400)

The hosts will look to build on their convincing win over Italy last time out while the Irish will be eyeing second spot in the table (RUGBY-NATIONS/SCOTLAND, expect by 1600 GMT/11 AM ET, 400 words)

- - - -

TENNIS

ATP/WTA: Memphis Championships, U.S. (to 24)

Nishikori to meet Lopez in Memphis, Erakovic wins first title

Japan's Kei Nishikori will meet Spain's Feliciano Lopez in the final of the U.S. National Indoor Tennis Championships after besting Australian Marinko Matosevic in the semi-finals in Memphis on Saturday. (TENNIS/MEMPHIS, moved, 250 words)

- -

ATP: Buenos Aires Open, Argentina (to 24)

Copy on merit

Marseille Open, France (to 24)

Berdych faces Tsonga in final

MARSEILLE - Top seed Tomas Berdych faces Frenchman Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, who he beat three times in as many matches last season, in the Marseille Open final (TENNIS-MEN/MARSEILLE, expect by 1500 GMT/10 AM ET, 250 words)

- - - -

CRICKET

South Africa v Pakistan, third test, Pretoria, (to 26)

Pakistan follow on in attempt to avoid defeat

PRETORIA - Pakistan face the possibility of a third test defeat as they start the third day following on at 14-1, still 239 runs behind against a rampant South Africa. (CRICKET-PAKISTAN/ (PIX), expect from 1030 GMT/5:30 AM ET, by Nick Said, 400 words)

- -

West Indies v Zimbabwe (2nd ODI), Grenada

West Indies bid to take 2-0 lead in one-day series

West Indies host Zimbabwe in the second one-dayer after winning the opening game by 156 runs to lead the three-game series. (CRICKET-ZIMBABWE/, 300 words)

- -

India v Australia, Chennai, 1st test (to 26)

Reuters coverage of cricket events conducted under the auspices of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) was suspended from 0000 GMT on Nov. 15.

This is a direct result of a policy decision by the BCCI to exclude news agencies working only in the photographic medium from covering its events. Action Images is a Thomson Reuters business.

- - - -

CYCLING

World track championships, Minsk (to 24)

MINSK - American Sarah Hammer, who won her fifth world title in the individual pursuit on Wednesday, and France's Francois Pervis, who claimed the men's time trial for his first global crown at 28, will aim for their second golds on the final day of the five-day championships. (CYCLING-TRACK/WORLD (PIX), expect by 2200 GMT/5 PM ET, 500 words)

- - - -

ALPINE SKIING

World Cup: Women's super-combined, Meribel, France

Flying Maze among the favourites

MERIBEL, France - Slovenia's Tina Maze and world champion Maria Hoefl-Riesch of Germany are the favourites of a women's World Cup super-combined in Meribel. (ALPINE SKIING-WOMEN/COMBINED (PIX) expect by 1200 GMT/7 AM ET, by Patrick Lang, 400 words)

- -

World Cup: Men's giant slalom, Garmisch, Germany

Ligety eyes more plaudits in giant slalom

GARMISCH-PARTENKIRCHEN, Germany - Triple world champion Ted Ligety is back on the course on which he earned his first giant slalom world gold two years ago.(ALPINE SKIING-MEN/GIANT (PIX), expect by 1430 GMT/9.30 AM ET, by Manuela Lang, 400 words)

- - - -

ATHLETICS

Tokyo marathon

Kimetto takes Tokyo record as Kenyans sweep podium

Dennis Kimetto claimed his first marathon victory in only his second race over the distance when the Kenyan won the Tokyo Marathon in a race record time on Sunday. (ATHLETICS-MARATHON/TOKYO, moved, 200 words)

- - - -

Hong Kong marathon

- - - -

HORSE RACING

Hong Kong Gold Cup (Duty editor: Amlan Chakraborty)

http://www.globalpost.com/dispatch/news/thomson-reuters/130223/reuters-sports-schedule-at-0600-gmt-saturday-feb-23