Connect to share and comment

Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Friday March 1

PlacardEnlarge
(Globalpost/GlobalPost)

Reuters sports schedule at 1400 GMT on Friday:

- - - -

SOCCER

Serie A

Napoli v Juventus (1945)

Juventus aim to stretch Serie A lead

MILAN - Juventus can stretch their Serie A lead to nine points with a win at second-placed Napoli who will be desperate to close the gap at the top with their title challenge having faltered after three consecutive draws. (SOCCER-ITALY/ (PIX), by Terry Daley, 400 words)

- -

Bundesliga

Eintracht Frankfurt v Borussia Moenchengladbach (1930)

Frankfurt host Borussia Moenchengladbach

BERLIN - Fourth-placed Eintracht Frankfurt welcome mid-table Borussia Moenchengladbach knowing a win would put them within a point of Bayer Leverkusen in third. (SOCCER-GERMANY/ (PIX), expect by 2130 GMT/4:30PM ET, by Brian Homewood, 300 words)

- -

Ligue 1

Montpellier HSC v Stade Rennes (1930)

Copy on merit

- -

Dutch championship

Vitesse Arnhem v Utrecht (1900)

Copy on merit

- - - -

GOLF

PGA Tour: Honda Classic, Florida (to March 3)

PALM BEACH GARDENS, Florida - Tiger Woods and Rory McIlroy have ground to make up in the second round after ending the first 18 holes six strokes behind the leader, Colombian Camilo Villegas. (GOLF-PGA/HONDA (PIX) expect first copy by 1700 GMT/12:00 PM ET, by Simon Evans, 500 words)

- -

European Tour: Tshwane Open, Pretoria (to March 3)

Fichardt holds one-stroke lead in South Africa

PRETORIA - South African Darren Fichardt, bidding to claim a second European Tour win in three weeks, holds a one-shot lead over Swedish rookie Bjorn Akesson in the inaugural Tshwane Open. (GOLF-EUROPEAN/, 300 words)

- - - -

TENNIS

ATP

Dubai Championships, United Arab Emirates (to March 3)

Djokovic faces Del Potro in Dubai semi-finals

DUBAI - Top seed Novak Djokovic faces fourth-seeded Argentine Juan Martin Del Potro in the semi-finals before holder and number two seed Roger Federer takes on third-seeded Czech Tomas Berdych at the Dubai Championships. (TENNIS-MEN/DUBAI, (PIX), by Matt Smith, 400 words)

- -

Delray Beach International, U.S. (to March 3)

Haas and Dodig clash in Delray quarters

Local favourite and top seed John Isner plays number six seed Kevin Anderson of South Africa after second-seeded German Tommy Haas faces unseeded Croatian Ivan Dodig in quarter-final action at the Delray Beach International in Florida. (TENNIS-MEN/DELRAY, expect by 0430 GMT/11:30 PM ET, 250 words)

- - - -

CRICKET

South Africa v Pakistan, first T20 international, Durban

Pakistan hope to hit back in T20 series

Pakistan will hope to fare better in their two Twenty20 matches against South Africa than they did in a 3-0 test series whitewash. (CRICKET-PAKISTAN (PIX), 300 words)

- - - -

ALPINE SKIING

World Cup: Women's super-G, Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany

Overall World Cup champion Maze targets Super-G

GARMISCH-PARTENKIRCHEN, Germany - Liechtenstein's Tina Weirather denied World Cup winner Tina Maze by securing her maiden success in a women's super-G on Friday, emulating her illustrious parents and adding a 40th victory to the family collection. (ALPINE SKIING-WOMEN/ (PIX), moved, by Manuele Lang, 400 words)

- - - -

BASEBALL

U.S. and other contenders aim to supplant Japan at WBC

NEW YORK - Championship baseball comes early this year with Japan aiming to extend their international dominance over hungry rivals including the United States in the 16-team World Baseball Classic starting on Saturday. (BASEBALL-CLASSIC/ (PREVIEW), expect by 1930 GMT/2:30 PM ET, by Larry Fine, 700 words)

- - - - (Duty editor: Ken Ferris)

http://www.globalpost.com/dispatch/news/thomson-reuters/130228/reuters-sports-schedule-at-1400-gmt-thursday-feb-28