Connect to share and comment

Reuters U.S. Sports Schedule at 2 PM EST on Thursday, Feb. 28

PlacardEnlarge
(Globalpost/GlobalPost)

Feb. 28 (Reuters) - Reuters U.S. sports schedule at 2 PM ET on Thursday:

- - - -

The duty editor is Steve Ginsburg, 202-898-8427

- - - -

National Football League

Eagles' defensive overhaul continues

It began with defensive tackles Cullen Jenkins and Mike Patterson. The secondary, starting with cornerback Nnamdi Asomugha, is next in the Eagles' defensive overhaul. (FBN-EAGLES-NEWS/, expect by 0030 GMT/7:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

- -

Former player: Locker room is Te'o's greatest NFL test

Manti Te'o didn't ace the 40-yard dash and scouts have offered mixed reviews of his face-to-face interviews. Former NFL player Ross Tucker says the jury of his pro peers will be the most critical judge of Te'o. (FBN-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- -

Words with friends: Did Rivera tip Panthers' hand?

Carolina Panthers head coach Ron Rivera might have tipped the team's free agency hand when he hints about interest in Pittsburgh Steelers wide receiver Mike Wallace. (FBN-PANTHERS-NEWS/, expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 450 words)

- -

NFL Notebook

The latest news and notes from around the league. (FBN-NOTES/, expect by 0030 GMT/7:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- - - -

National Basketball Association

The Sports Xchange covers all NBA games; key matchup highlighted below

- -

Clippers at Pacers

INDIANAPOLIS - The Indiana Pacers aren't likely to have center Roy Hibbert (suspension), which could play to the favor of the Clippers deep and explosive front line. (BKN-CLIPPERS-PACERS-WRITERTHRU/ (PIX), expect by 0230 GMT/9:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 700 words)

- -

NBA Notebook

The latest news and notes from around the league. (BKN-NEWS/NOTES, expect by 0000 GMT/7 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

- - - -

College Basketball

The Sports Xchange covers all Top 25 games; key matchups highlighted below

- -

Devils get their day, but must solve Cavaliers first

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. - Duke has waited a month for its rematch with Miami. Before a shot at avenging that historic landslide loss, it has to take Virginia's best shot. (BKC-DUKE-VIRGINIA-WRITERTHRU/ (PIX), expect by 0430 GMT/11:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 700 words)

- -

One to beat? Gonzaga hits BYU with No. 1 up for grabs

PROVO, Utah - Gonzaga has never been ranked No. 1 in the nation. To take over the top spot in the polls, the Bulldogs need a win at BYU on Thursday. (BKC-GONZAGA-BYU-WRITERTHRU/ (PIX), expect by 0630 GMT/1:30 AM ET, The Sports Xchange, 700 words)

- -

CBK Notebook

The latest news and notes from around the nation. (BKC-NEWS/NOTES, expect by 0000 GMT/7 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

- - - -

Golf

PGA Tour: Honda Classic, Florida

PALM BEACH GARDENS, Florida - Tiger Woods has his bare feet in water to save par en route to an even-par 70 in the opening round of the Honda Classic that leaves him four shots back of the clubhouse leaders. (GOLF-PGA/, (PIX), moved; will be led, by Simon Evans, 500 words)

- -

Fichardt looking good for South African double

PRETORIA - South African Darren Fichardt, bidding to claim a second European Tour win in three weeks, leads the way after shooting a seven-under 65 in the first round of the inaugural Tshwane Open. (GOLF-EUROPEAN/, moved; may be led, 250 words)

- - - -

Major League Baseball

Cardinals' right-hander Wacha showing 'big league' stuff

Michael Wacha threw 21 pitches in pro baseball. All-Star catcher Yadier Molina believes his next pitch should be with the St. Louis Cardinals, not in the minors. But manager Mike Matheny tries to hush that talk for now. (BBO-CARDINALS-NEWS/FEATURE, expect by 0030 GMT/7:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 450 words)

- -

Former shortstop might be 1B solution for Brewers

The Milwaukee Brewers have found an unlikely replacement for their injury-riddled first base position in veteran shortstop Alex Gonzalez. He has played more than 1,500 games in the majors, all at shortstop, but has looked comfortable at first base as the Brewers look for fill-ins after knee injuries to Corey Hart and Mat Gamel. (BBO-BREWERS-NEWS/FEATURE, expect by 0045 GMT/7:45 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 450 words)

- -

And the season hasn't even started yet...

Starlin Castro is the latest of member of the Cubs' core to be felled by a muscle strain, following ace pitcher Matt Garza. The injuries aren't serious, but the team's thin depth is exposed without them. (BBO-CUBS-NEWS/FEATURE, expect by 0045 GMT/7:45 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 450 words)

- -

MLB Notebook

The latest news and notes from the Grapefruit and Cactus leagues. (BBO-NEWS/NOTES, expect by 0000 GMT/7 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

- - - -

National Hockey League

The Sports Xchange covers all NHL games; key matchup highlighted below

- -

Southern Blues for Hawks?

ST. LOUIS - The Chicago Blackhawks travel south to face the St. Louis Blues and keep their undefeated-in-regulation run alive in their 20th game of the season. (HKN-BLUES-BLACKHAWKS-WRITERTHRU/ (PIX), expect by 0400 GMT/11 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 700 words)

- -

NHL Notebook

The latest news and notes from around the league. (HKN-NEWS/NOTES, expect by 0000 GMT/7 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

- - - -

Tennis

Delray Beach International

Isner and Haas play second-round matches at Delray

Big-serving American top seed John Isner meets Japan's Go Soeda in the second round in Florida while number two Tommy Haas takes on Denis Istomin of Uzbekistan. (TENNIS-MEN/DELRAY, expect by 0430 GMT/11:30 PM ET, 250 words)

- -

Djokovic swats aside Seppi to set up Del Potro showdown

DUBAI - Novak Djokovic extends his winning streak to 16 matches after routing Andreas Seppi 6-0 6-3 to set up a semi-final duel with former U.S. Open champion Juan Martin Del Potro at the Dubai Championships. (TENNIS-MEN/DUBAI (UPDATE 1, PIX), moved, by Matt Smith, 550 words)

http://www.globalpost.com/dispatch/news/thomson-reuters/130228/reuters-us-sports-schedule-at-2-pm-est-thursday-feb-28