Connect to share and comment

Reuters U.S. Sports Schedule at 2 PM EST on Monday, March 4

PlacardEnlarge
(Globalpost/GlobalPost)

March 4 (Reuters) - Reuters U.S. sports schedule at 2 PM ET on Monday:

- - - -

The duty editor is Steve Ginsburg, 202-898-8427

- - - -

National Football League

$120 Million Joe

Baltimore Ravens quarterback Joe Flacco becomes the NFL's highest-paid player as he signs a six-year deal worth more than $120 million. (FBN-RAVENS-NEWS/, expect by 0000 GMT/7 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

- -

Tag game ends

The Miami Dolphins apply the franchise tag to defensive tackle Randy Starks on the final day to use the designation to keep players from hitting the free agent market. The Dolphins could lose offensive tackle Jake Long and cornerback Sean Smith to free agency if they can't work out new contracts by March 12. (FBN-DOLPHINS-NEWS/, expect by 1930 GMT/2:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- -

2013 NFL Draft: Top 250 player ratings

As pro day season shifts into high gear, here are the top 250 players in the 2013 NFL Draft. (FBN-NEWS/, expect by 2200 GMT/5 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 1,200 words)

- -

2013 NFL Draft: First-round mock draft

NFLDraftScout.com's Dane Brugler offers his projections for all 32 picks in the first round of the 2013 NFL Draft. (FBN-NEWS/, expect by 0030 GMT/7:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 1,200 words)

- -

NFL Notebook

The latest news and notes from around the league. (FBN-NOTES/, expect by 0030 GMT/7:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- - - -

National Basketball Association

The Sports Xchange covers all NBA games; key matchup highlighted below

- -

Raptors at Warriors

OAKLAND - Rudy Gay's Toronto Raptors visit Steph Curry's Warriors hoping to turn the tide in what has been a lopsided series in Golden State's favor. (BKN-RAPTORS-WARRIORS-WRITERTHRU/, expect by 0600 GMT/1 AM ET, The Sports Xchange, 700 words)

- -

LeBron to have knee examined

LeBron James says he will have doctors take a look at his knee after he landed awkwardly in Sunday's victory over the Knicks. (BKN-HEAT-NEWS/, expect by 2330 GMT/6:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 300 words)

- -

NBA Notebook

The latest news and notes from around the league. (BKN-NEWS/NOTES, expect by 0000 GMT/7 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

- - - -

College Basketball

The Sports Xchange covers all Top 25 games; key matchups highlighted below

- -

Texas Tech at Kansas

LAWRENCE, Kan. - The Kansas Jayhawks can move to 14-3 in the Big 12 and one step closer to a ninth consecutive conference championship by taking down Texas Tech. (BKC-KANSAS-TEXASTECH-WRITERTHRU/, expect by 0230 GMT/9:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 700 words)

- -

Cincinnati at Louisville

LOUISVILLE - The Louisville Cardinals set their sights on Cincinnati and a sixth straight victory. The Cardinals have won five in a row with an average margin of victory over 15 points. (BKC-LOUISVILLE-CINCINNATI-WRITERTHRU/, expect by 0230 GMT/9:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 700 words)

- -

Gonzaga takes the top spot

Gonzaga moves into the No. 1 spot in the latest AP poll, the first time in school history the Bulldogs are the nation's top-ranked team. (BKC-NEWS/, expect by 1915 GMT/2:15 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- -

CBK Notebook

The latest news and notes from around the nation. (BKC-NEWS/NOTES, expect by 0000 GMT/7 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

- - - -

Golf

European Tour supports rule change on belly putters

LONDON - The European Tour is backing the suggested ban on the anchoring of long putters, saying almost all of their player representatives support the change to golf's regulations. (GOLF EUROPEAN/RULES, moved, by Tony Jimenez, 400 words)

- -

Tour win opens new vista for journeyman Van der Walt

PRETORIA - A winning weekend has brought about a complete change in fortune for Dawie van der Walt, allowing him to set goals again after considering quitting the sport at one stage. (GOLF-EUROPEAN/, moved, 400 words)

- - - -

Major League Baseball

Down, out: Cubs' Garza won't be ready Opening Day Right-hander Matt Garza will begin the 2013 season on the disabled list, pushing Jeff Samardzija into an Opening Day start. (BBO-CUBS-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, 350 words)

- -

Angels don't want to let Trout off the hook

The Los Angeles Angels give MVP runner-up Mike Trout a slight bump in salary and move him from his desired position of center field. But the Angels strongly believe Trout's future is in Los Angeles. (BBO-ANGELS-NEWS/FEATURE, expect by 0130 GMT/8:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 450 words)

- -

MLB Notebook

The latest news and notes from the Grapefruit and Cactus leagues. (BBO-NEWS/NOTES, expect by 0000 GMT/7 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

- - - -

World Baseball Classic

Cuba, Japan clinch second-round berths

Cuba powers its way to the second round of the World Baseball Classic with a 12-0 rout of China that was stopped in the seventh inning because of the mercy rule. (BASEBALL-WORLD/, expect by 1930 GMT/2:30 PM ET, 300 words)

- - - -

National Hockey League

The Sports Xchange covers all NHL games; key matchup highlighted below

- -

Devils at Maple Leafs

TORONTO - The dinged-up New Jersey Devils face the Toronto Maple Leafs at the Air Canada Centre trying avoid a fifth consecutive loss. (HKN-MAPLELEAFS-DEVILS-WRITERTHRU/, expect by 10 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 700 words)

- -

Malkin returning to Penguins lineup vs. Lightning

Pittsburgh Penguins center Evgeni Malkin will return to the lineup tonight against the visiting Tampa Bay Lightning after missing the last four games with a concussion. (HKN-PENGUINS-NEWS, moved, The Sports Xchange, 300 words)

- -

NHL Notebook

The latest news and notes from around the league. (HKN-NEWS/NOTES, expect by 0000 GMT/7 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

See Also: Carolina Hurricanes goaltender Cam Ward is expected to miss six to eight weeks with a sprained knee ligament. (NHL-HURRICANES-WARD)

- - - -

Tennis

Hingis tops list of 2013 Hall of Fame class

Swiss former world No. 1 Martina Hingis, a winner of five grand slam singles titles, headlines the International Tennis Hall of Fame's list of inductees for the 2013 class. (TENNIS-FAME/, moved, 400 words)

- - - -

Olympics

Swiss exit good for possible Munich 2022 bid

BERLIN - Munich's chances of landing the 2022 winter Olympics should the Bavarian capital bid again have improved with the rejection of a Swiss bid, the German's Olympic Committee says. (OLYMPICS-MUNICH/2022 (UPDATE 1), moved; may be led, 350 words)

http://www.globalpost.com/dispatch/news/thomson-reuters/130304/reuters-us-sports-schedule-at-2-pm-est-monday-march-4