Park-KCC chief-vice ministers

SEOUL, March 24 (Yonhap) -- President Park Geun-hye named her close aide and former four-term lawmaker Lee Kyeong-jae to head the Korea Communications Commission and selected eight new vice ministerial-level officials, her spokesman said Sunday.

Baek Seung-joo, senior researcher at the Korea Institute for Defense Analyses (KIDA), was appointed as the vice defense minister, while Vice Chairman Choo Kyung-ho of the Financial Services Commission (FSC), the country's financial regulator, was named the first vice finance minister and director of the finance ministry's budget office Lee Suk-joon was promoted to the second vice finance minister, presidential spokeswoman Yoon Chang-jung announced.

For the two vice ministers of the newly-created ministry of future creation and science, Park selected Lee Sang-mok, the chief of the Korean Federation of Science and Technology Societies, and Yoon Jong-lok, a science professor at Seoul's Yonsei University. Son Jae-hak, who heads the National Fisheries Research and Development Institute, was named vice minister of the Ministry of Maritime Affairs and Fisheries.

Chung Chan-woo, the vice chief of the Korea Institute of Finance, was appointed as the FSC vice chairman, and Koh Young-sun, senior researcher at the Korea Development Institute, was named second vice minister for the Prime Minister's Office.

The president made the selections based on whether candidates have expertise in their respective areas and if they are appropriate for realizing her philosophy on state affairs, Yoon said.

<All rights reserved by Yonhap News Agency>