S. Korean, U.S. diplomats to receive James A. Van Fleet Award

NEW YORK, Sept. 20 (Yonhap) -- In a symbolic occasion to mark 60 years of strong partnership between South Korea and the U.S., the diplomatic corps of the allies have been selected as this year's winner of the Korea Society's James A. Van Fleet Award, the organization announced Friday.

"Ambassador Ahn Ho-young, from the Embassy of the Republic of Korea in Washington, D.C., and Ambassador Sung Kim, from the Embassy of the United States in Seoul, will accept the award on behalf of all diplomats, past and present, who have contributed so much to strengthening the alliance," it said in a press release.

The society said the award will be presented to them next week in recognition of their "outstanding contributions to the U.S.-Korea relationship,"

The awarding ceremony will be held in New York in Wednesday, it added.

South Korean Foreign Minister Yun Byung-se also plans to attend the event and deliver a keynote speech, said the nonprofit organization dedicated to the promotion of cooperation between the two nations.

Yun will visit New York next week to join the 68th regular session of the United Nations General Assembly.

Named after Gen. James A. Van Fleet, the Army commander during the Korean War, the award is given to Korean or American individuals or groups for contributions to the promotion of U.S.-Korea relations.

Former honorees include the late South Korean President Kim Dae-jung, U.N. Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon, and former U.S. Presidents George H.W. Bush and Jimmy Carter.

<All rights reserved by Yonhap News Agency>