Connect to share and comment

Referee spares Barca but barely escapes

The controversial Barcelona-Chelsea Champions League match exposed again how vulnerable soccer is to officiating errors.

It's an old soccer joke, and right now it is being told in Barcelona: The youngster is rejoicing over his favorite team's victory and pleads with his dad to commemorate the occasion by buying him a team jersey "OK," says the father, "do you want the goalkeeper's or the referee's?"

But it is a joke appreciated by a limited audience. Certainly nobody in the European soccer establishment and no true fan of the game was laughing after the ugly scene that followed Barcelona's stunning last-minute victory over Chelsea in the Champions League semifinals.

Norwegian referee Tom Henning Ovrebo, who made a series of controversial non-calls that likely spared Barcelona, had to be given police protection and spirited out of England in secret after he received death threats following the game.

Ovrebo was fortunate to get off the field unharmed. After he denied Chelsea's plea for a "hand ball" in the final seconds, Michael Ballack chased him up the field for some 50 yards, demonstrating extraordinary dexterity by wielding his arms around the official somehow without actually touching him. Then, after the final whistle, the tempestuous Didier Drogba confronted the ref in the locker room tunnel — reportedly jabbing fingers at the official's face — and had to be restrained by security guards.

Drogba's distress was surely compounded by the fact that if he had simply done his job — he had several exceptional opportunities to score and bury Barca — Chelsea would be through to the final against Manchester United on May 27 in Rome. Still, as much as it was my fervent wish that an all-English final be avoided, it was hard to take much pleasure in that seemingly tarnished victory.

There were at least five disputed calls of all stripes — trip, tackle, shirt tug, hand ball — in the Barcelona box or its vicinity, and any fair-minded Barca supporter would probably concede that at least two of them warranted penalties. Then again, the Norwegian ref booted a Barcelona defender from the game — and, thus, from the final — on a dubious decision that had all the earmarks of a makeup call.

Then again, the officiating wasn't all that impressive last week in the first leg of the semifinal. A couple key non-calls went Chelsea's way, especially late in the scoreless game when Barca's Thierry Henry was pulled down inside the penalty box. And later, with but a few minutes remaining in the contest, referee Wolfgang Stark turned a blind eye to a hard foul by Ballack that could easily have rated his second yellow card and a suspension for the final leg. One could make the case that if the German ref had done his job, Ballack wouldn't have been on the field to chase his Norwegian colleague. (Whatever did happen to the home-field advantage?)