Agence France-PresseFebruary 8, 2013 05:46
Burkina Faso's star striker Jonathan Pitroipa, who picked up a red card in the semi-final against Ghana, is set to play in Sunday's Africa Cup of Nations final after all.
For Pitroipa to be able to take part, the referee in Wednesday's game had to admit he had made a mistake in booking the player for a second time for diving, something the Tunisian Slim Jdidi has now done, CAf president Issa Hayatou said.
"Everyone realised that this referee did not officiate well," Hayatou announced here on Friday. "They've told me the referee has sent a letter saying he got it wrong.