Connect to share and comment

Cricket: New Zealand Test squad for West Indies

New Zealand's 15-man squad named Tuesday for a three-Test tour of the West Indies in June: Brendon McCullum (captain), Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Mark Craig, Peter Fulton, Tom Latham, James Neesham, Luke Ronchi, Hamish Rutherford, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling, Kane Williamson. afp

Cricket: Fiery McCullum helps New Zealand thump Netherlands

Brendan McCullum hit a robust half-century to steer New Zealand to a comprehensive six-wicket win over the Netherlands in a World Twenty20 Super-10 game in Chittagong on Saturday. McCullum hit a punishing 45-ball 65 with three sixes and four boundaries to make easy work of a 152-run target which New Zealand chased down in 19 overs. McCullum also became the first man to reach 2,000 runs in Twenty20 cricket when he cleared 21 in his 67th match.

Cricket: Borren, Cooper guide Netherlands to 151-4

Peter Borren and Tom Cooper batted solidly as the Netherlands posted a challenging 151-4 against New Zealand in the World Twenty20 Super-10 Group One match in Chittagong on Saturday. Borren made his highest T20 score of 49 and Cooper scored 40 not out during their invaluable 60-run stand for the fourth wicket off just 35 balls. The pairing ensured the Netherlands recorded a testing chase score after they were sent into bat at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury stadium.

Cricket: New Zealand put the Netherlands into bat

New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum won the toss and decided to bowl in the World Twenty20 Super-10 Group One match against the Netherlands in Chittagong on Saturday. New Zealand brought in paceman Trent Boult and allrounder Jimmy Neesham for Colin Munro and Tim Southee in two changes from the side which beat England by the Duckworth-Lewis method. The Netherlands, who lost to South Africa on Thursday, remained unchanged for the third match in a row. South Africa, who have four points after three games, take on England in the next match later Saturday.

Cricket: New Zealand draw Test, win series against India

New Zealand won their series against India 1-0 Tuesday when the second Test in Wellington ended in a draw. India, set a target of 435 to win, were 166-3 at stumps on the final day. Virat Kohli was not out 105 with Rohit Sharma on 31. For New Zealand, Tim Southee took 2-50. New Zealand won the first Test in Auckland by 40 runs. cf/mp/pj

Cricket: Ryder's booze-up costs him New Zealand T20 spot

Jesse Ryder's fall from grace continued Sunday when the big-hitting left-hander was left out of the New Zealand squad for the World Twenty20 starting next month in Bangladesh. Ryder's omission comes less than a week after he was dropped from the New Zealand Test squad following a late-night drinking session that ended just hours before the start of the first Test against India. New Zealand selection boss Bruce Edgar confirmed that Ryder had been almost assured of making the World Twenty20 squad, but was ruled out because of his behaviour.

Cricket: New Zealand squad for World T20

The New Zealand squad named Sunday for the ICC World Twenty20, to be played in Bangladesh between March 16 and April 6: Brendon McCullum (captain), Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Anton Devcich, Martin Guptill, Roneel Hira, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nathan McCullum, Kyle Mills, Colin Munro, James Neesham, Luke Ronchi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Kane Williamson. afp

Cricket: Rahane century as India take firm control

A maiden century to Ajinkya Rahane boosted India to a formidable 246-run first innings lead over New Zealand as they took command of the second Test in Wellington on Saturday. India were all out late in the day for 438 in reply to New Zealand's 192, with Rahane's 118 backed by 98 from Shikhar Dhawan and 68 from skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni. At stumps, after facing nine overs, New Zealand were 24-1 in their second innings and facing a huge struggle to prevent India drawing the series.

Cricket: New Zealand 24-1 at stumps

New Zealand were 24 for one at stumps in their second innings after India posted a first innings lead of 246 on the second day of the second Test in Wellington Saturday. Hamish Rutherford was not out 18 and Kane Williamson was on four. India were all out for 438 in their first innings in reply to New Zealand's 192. Ajinkya Rahane made 118 and Shikhar Dhawan 98. For New Zealand, Trent Boult, Tim Southee and Neil Wagner took three wickets apiece. cf/mp/st

Cricket: Dhawan's 98 puts India in front

Shikhar Dhawan fell just short of his third Test century as India took a first innings lead over New Zealand with five wickets in hand at the Basin Reserve on Saturday. At lunch on day two in Wellington, India were 201-5 in reply to New Zealand's 192 with Virat Kohli on 27 and Ajinkya Rahane on 22. Dhawan was out for 98. After India resumed the day at 100-2, Dhawan and nightwatchman Ishant Sharma produced a defiant stand for the third wicket, adding a further 41 runs before Trent Boult made the breakthrough.
Syndicate content